AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 733
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 1 of 7 (1,537 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

1537 Views, 6 Replies
03-24-2014 08:45 AM

The system variable for the new Create/Learn tab that loads at startup is NEWTABMODE (0 = off; 1 = on)

The system variable for the new highlight visual representation is HIGHLIGHT (0 = off; 1 = on)

Others can add other new variables below as they come across them.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP2, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)

Highlight is the same as older versions: was there a functionality you meant to identify as well?

Tap HELP in 2015, on the homepage under Resources is a list of New, Updated and Obsolete commands and system variables in 2015.

Look up the new LINESMOOTHING, new in 2015: nice visual 'fix' added, I like it.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (1,494 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-24-2014 10:37 AM in reply to: nrz13

Highlight is the same as older versions: was there a functionality you meant to identify as well?

Tap HELP in 2015, on the homepage under Resources is a list of New, Updated and Obsolete commands and system variables in 2015.

Look up the new LINESMOOTHING, new in 2015: nice visual 'fix' added, I like it.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 733
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 3 of 7 (1,489 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-24-2014 10:47 AM in reply to: pendean

Ha ha, I didn't notice the "New Commands and System Variables" even though it was right below the "System Variables" link I clicked on.  Sorry, I don't normally use the built-in help.  Usually I just do a Google search for what I want, but since no one has released documentation for it yet, I couldn't do it that way this time.

When was the HIGHLIGHT command introduced?  I had never seen that before.  It must have been off by default for my previous installs???


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP2, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 7 (1,483 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-24-2014 10:53 AM in reply to: nrz13
HIGHLIGHT has been around forever.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 733
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 5 of 7 (1,478 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-24-2014 10:58 AM in reply to: pendean

Is it just that it looks different in 2015?  I don't have a previous install anymore to compare it to.  When I turn Highlight off it looks odd to me, but I can't figure out why exactly.  It definitely never used to add a blue border to everything for me.

Edit:  It used to dash selected items in


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP2, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,364
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 7 (1,470 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-24-2014 11:08 AM in reply to: nrz13
That 'blue edging' to objects is new to 2015: in 2014 and older, ther was no blue 'edge' to everything, it just 'ghosted' in appearance.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
cad-pe
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎06-30-2008
Message 7 of 7 (1,104 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015: New System Variables

03-29-2014 08:55 PM in reply to: nrz13

Yes, HIGHLIGHT has been around since atleast Release 9 or before.

 

However, the programmers at Autodesk were showing off their programming skills for the "blue-ish" highlight. To turn-off the "blue-ish" highlight, use SELECTIONEFFECT = 0.

 

The programmers at Autodesk at time seem to have no sense of the notion of "keep it simple" to aid in production speed.

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!