AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 1 of 26 (2,310 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD 2015 Display Plot Styles Failure

2310 Views, 25 Replies
03-29-2014 03:18 AM

Is anyone else seeing the Display Plot Styles function not working in Layouts in AutoCAD 2015?  I can open the same file with the same B&W plot style setting in both AutoCAD 2014 and 2015, and even though the "Display Plot Style" box is checked in the Page Setup Manager, 2014 will display the Layout on screen correctly and 2015 will not.  Both use a B&W plot style.  2014 will show onscreen correctly... 2015 will display in colors.

 

If I begin a brand new file in 2015 I can make this work.  But it seems files that were created in 2014 won't.  I should add that both versions will plot the files correctly, and they will display correctly in a preview.  It just appears that they will not display correctly (in this case in B&W) onscreen in the Layouts.

 

Either I've missed a setting somewhere or there might really be something off here.  A few independent checks by a few of you out there might help.

 

Thanks!

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,994
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 26 (2,299 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015 Display Plot Styles Failure

03-29-2014 03:44 AM in reply to: heinsite

Hi,

 

look to the attached drawing, I can't see any issue, the assigned "monochrome.ctb" makes objects presented as monochrome.

If you open my drawing, do you see the content of the test-layout in color?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 3 of 26 (2,288 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015 Display Plot Styles Failure

03-29-2014 04:46 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thanks, Alfred.  Yes, I can get yours to work, and I can also get my own to work as well if I create an entirely new drawing.  I just have one of my older drawings created with AutoCAD 2014 where the Plot Style is "sticky"... it just will not display the Layouts correctly no matter what I've tried.  They should show in monochrome (or B&W) onscreen.  But they refuse and so far I haven't been able to figure out why.  All of the settings appear to be identical.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,994
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 26 (2,280 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015 Display Plot Styles Failure

03-29-2014 05:04 AM in reply to: heinsite

Hi,

 

tried now the following steps:

  • started AutoCAD 2014
  • created a new drawing, with a red layer, with a new layout set to "monochrome.ctb" ==> looks good
  • saved that drawing and closed AutoCAD
  • opend that drawing with AutoCAD 2015 ==> looks good, it's displayed as monochrome

 

How about this file on your system? If my files all work may we have one of your files to test?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 5 of 26 (2,260 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015 Display Plot Styles Failure

03-29-2014 12:23 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred.NESWADBA wrote:

Hi,

 

tried now the following steps:

  • started AutoCAD 2014
  • created a new drawing, with a red layer, with a new layout set to "monochrome.ctb" ==> looks good
  • saved that drawing and closed AutoCAD
  • opend that drawing with AutoCAD 2015 ==> looks good, it's displayed as monochrome

 

How about this file on your system? If my files all work may we have one of your files to test?

 

- alfred -


Unfortunately, it's not a file I can send (government/security issues)... but fortunately the problem is with only this single file so far.  My results in testing are the same as yours if I create other new files in 2014 (or 2015) and set "Display Plot Style" for a B&W or monochrome, the Layouts will display correctly in 2015.  Frustrating.

 

So I may either have to live with this one aboration or keep looking as I get time since I've been unable to duplicate it.  That's not to say that it won't appear again in other older files down the road... but it's appears to be one-off issue for now.

 

Thanks, Alfred!

Dave.

 

 

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,244
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 26 (2,242 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015 Display Plot Styles Failure

03-30-2014 06:36 AM in reply to: heinsite
Are you sure the file in question is not set for STB?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 7 of 26 (2,231 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015 Display Plot Styles Failure

03-30-2014 03:44 PM in reply to: pendean

pendean wrote:
Are you sure the file in question is not set for STB?

Completely.  It's my own file and I never set STB.  What is odd is that it will display properly in 2014 but not in 2015.  There must be a new setting somewhere I haven't found yet.

 

Dave

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,751
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 8 of 26 (2,219 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015 Display Plot Styles Failure

03-30-2014 09:05 PM in reply to: heinsite
Hi Dave,
Does your problem file contains hatches with complex custom hatch pattern(s)?

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,994
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 26 (2,212 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015 Display Plot Styles Failure

03-30-2014 10:46 PM in reply to: heinsite

Hi,

 

if you run _WBLOCK with option "entire drawing", has the new dwg-file the same issue?

If you copy the layout within the same drawing ... or when you use designcenter to copy one of those layout into a new drawing ==> same problem?

And I guess you already have tried commands like _RECOVER (_RECOVERALL) and _AUDIT.

 

>> Unfortunately, it's not a file I can send

Well, of you erase the whole geometry in a copy of that drawing, run _PURGE, then create a layer with color red and a polyline on that, can you send this dwg (as long as this shows the described phenomen)?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 10 of 26 (2,203 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2015 Display Plot Styles Failure

03-31-2014 02:16 AM in reply to: maxim_k

maxim_k wrote:
Hi Dave,
Does your problem file contains hatches with complex custom hatch pattern(s)?

Maxim

It does contain a hatch, but only a simple one (ANSI37).  I'm not sure how that might contribute to the problem tho'.  Suppose I could erase it and see what happens...

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.