AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
EliseB
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
Message 1 of 12 (1,491 Views)

AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

1491 Views, 11 Replies
02-13-2014 04:55 PM

Our firm just made the switch from AutoCAD 2008 to AutoCAD 2014.  We are looking for a way to make the Ribbon behave more like Dashboards did.  Specifically, a way to expand and contract the panels vertically (rather than horizontally).  I found a blog here showing exactly what we would like to accomplish (but in AutoCAD 2009). Is this still possible in AutoCAD 2014? And if so, how do I achieve this?

 

Thank you so much for your help!

Elise

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 12 (1,474 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-15-2014 08:14 AM in reply to: EliseB

Hi,

 

you can dock the ribbon also left/right like shown >>>here<<<.

But I would not recommend that as it needs a lot of space more than on the top position.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 12 (1,470 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-15-2014 09:36 AM in reply to: EliseB
Alfred, on a wide screen monitor the loss of screen real estate is less of a problem when the ribbon is docked to the side rather than the top.
Side placement of the Ribbon actually makes a lot more sense.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 12 (1,466 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-15-2014 10:33 AM in reply to: pendean

Hi,

 

>> Side placement of the Ribbon actually makes a lot more sense.

Except of the mass of unused space ... there might be icons if you modify the complete menu-structure, but for default AutoCAD-menu it's unused space.

 

...and so everyone sees different pro's and con's :smileywink:

 

2014-02-15 19-28-59.png

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,636
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 12 (1,457 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-15-2014 12:00 PM in reply to: EliseB
I take it you never used the 2008's Dashboard :smileyhappy:

I got the impression the OP wasn't going to be satisfied with OOTB CUIX menu: your concerns can be addressed well enough that way.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,055
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 6 of 12 (1,427 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-17-2014 08:30 AM in reply to: pendean

I had forgotten about the dashboard! Was that like a one year thing?

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,228
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 12 (1,416 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-17-2014 09:51 AM in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

Bob_Zurunkle wrote:

I had forgotten about the dashboard! Was that like a one year thing?


Well, it was introduced in r2007.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,648
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 8 of 12 (1,413 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-17-2014 09:56 AM in reply to: EliseB
Right click over the Ribbon and pick undock. Drag it to the side to dock it, adjust the size to your taste.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Active Member
EliseB
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
Message 9 of 12 (1,380 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-18-2014 08:28 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

It is not so much being able to physically MOVE the Ribbon from the top to the side (I understand you can drag and drop it)....I am trying to figure out a way (once I've moved the Ribbon to the side of my screen) to have the panels slide down vertically instead of slide out horizontally when I click on them.  It takes up valuable space within the drawing if everytime I click a panel it expands into my workspace.  Here is the link to what I am trying to achieve.

 

Again, thank you so much for your patience and help!

Elise

Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 10 of 12 (1,358 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014-Expand Ribbon Panels Vertically?

02-18-2014 01:21 PM in reply to: EliseB

EliseB wrote:

It is not so much being able to physically MOVE the Ribbon from the top to the side (I understand you can drag and drop it)....I am trying to figure out a way (once I've moved the Ribbon to the side of my screen) to have the panels slide down vertically instead of slide out horizontally when I click on them.  It takes up valuable space within the drawing if everytime I click a panel it expands into my workspace.  Here is the link to what I am trying to achieve.

 

Again, thank you so much for your patience and help!

Elise


That's a pretty neat way to use the Ribbon. I never messed with the ribbon back in 2009, so I wasn't aware that it could have been used that way. I've always hated how the ribbon system works with being horizontal, even though screens aren't increasing vertically. If this could be achieved again with 2014 that'd be awesome!

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.