AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
ngetorru
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-18-2013
Message 1 of 32 (58,250 Views)

AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1

58250 Views, 31 Replies
11-18-2013 09:12 AM

Hello everyone,

 

Recently I have upgraded my Windows 8 OS to 8.1. Before it, AutoCAD 2014 was working fine, without problems. But once the Windows upgrade was finished it  is impossible to run AutoCAD. When in loading screen, AutoCAD crashes. Does "AutoCAD Service Pack 1" or "Model Documentation Hotfix for 64-bit Windows 8.1" solve my problem? If not, there is any hotfix or AutoCAD upgrade to improve compatibility between AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1? I have spent for hours looking for help in Autodesk web unsuccessfully.

 

Thanks for all.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,311
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 32 (58,192 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1

11-18-2013 03:56 PM in reply to: ngetorru
Some users have reported SP1 fixing the problem.
Autodesk has not officially supported Win8.1 AFAIK.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
detroit808
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎08-28-2013
Message 3 of 32 (58,167 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1

11-19-2013 12:09 AM in reply to: ngetorru

I have AutoCAD 2014 running on Windows 8.1 x64 without any problems, but I didn't upgrade from 8, it was a full 8.1 install on a system from scratch, so If you can set up a system from scratch I list steps below.

 

There are specifics you need to perform to get this running else AutoCAD installer fails and this is documented by Autodesk somewhere.

 

1. Fresh install of 8.1 x64 (not upgrade).

2. In Windows Control Panel 'Programs and Features' uninstall 'Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable'

3. Download and Install .Net 3.5 Framework for 8.1  (right click run as admin) file = dotNetFx35_W8.1_x64.exe

 

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=25150

 

4. Install AutoCAD 2014

Active Member
ngetorru
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-18-2013
Message 4 of 32 (58,096 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1

11-19-2013 11:35 AM in reply to: ngetorru

I have reinstalled completely AutoCAD 2014 from the web. There was no problem with the download and installing. But when I ran it for the first time, AutoCAD didn't starts correctly. Before any license requirement it show me the message in the picture. 

 

 

"El sistema de seguridad ( administrador de licencias con bloqueo mediante sofware) no funciona o está instalado de forma incorrecta"

 

" Security sistem ( license with software lock admin ) does not work or it was not installed fine"

 

What does it mean? For which security sistem is AutoCAD asking me?

 

Thanks for all.

 

Active Member
ngetorru
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-18-2013
Message 5 of 32 (58,082 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1

11-19-2013 12:24 PM in reply to: detroit808
Why I need to remove Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable? It is not enought installing .Net 3.5 Framework for 8.1?
Contributor
detroit808
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎08-28-2013
Message 6 of 32 (58,050 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1

11-19-2013 05:25 PM in reply to: ngetorru

Hi ngetorru,

 

The reason for this, is that the AutoCAD 2014 installer has an older version of the "Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable" framework than the one Windows 8.1 installs. So for new installs, of AutoCAD on Windows 8.1 the installer fails, but for systems with Windows 8 and an existing AutoCAD install which is then upgraded to Windows 8.1, AutoCAD will not run due to these errors. So the solution was, to uninstall the newer "Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable" from Windows 8.1, install AutoCAD to let it install its own older version of the framework, then later after AutoCAD is running, install the newer "Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable" framework that I posted.

 

I documented only the steps to install successfully but I didn't save the link to the document Autodesk made which explains the situation and I can't seem to find it anywhere at this point. If I find time and locate it i'll edit my first post to include it.

 

Oh, it seems I can't edit a previous post of mine that's been replied to. 

 

I'm not 100% certain this is the exact document but it's details are the same.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Some-Products-Fail-to-Install-Result-1603/td-p/...

Active Member
SWC0218
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-29-2013
Message 7 of 32 (56,915 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1

11-29-2013 12:46 PM in reply to: ngetorru

Okay - I've tried unloading, reloading, service packs etc etc.  But after upgrading from windows 8 to 8.1 my Acad LT 2013 still won't work!!!  I am now willing to by a new copy of Acad just so I can get my business running again.  What do I buy?  What version of ACAD LT works with windows 8.1????

Active Member
SWC0218
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-29-2013
Message 8 of 32 (56,898 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1

11-29-2013 02:42 PM in reply to: ngetorru

Different issue now which kind of changes things.  I can load Acad LT 2013 using Windows 8.1 but when loading it brings me to an activation page.  It won't let me activate and says I have an invalid serial number.  I have a legal version of the software and have entered all numbers correctly but it won' t activate license.  It allows me to run software as in evaluation mode and it work so win 8.1 isn't the issue.

 

In short - whats wrong with my serial number and how do I activate as I now only have 7 days before evaluation mode runs out.

 

This is really annoying!!!

New Member
mv.delatorre
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-22-2013
Message 9 of 32 (56,800 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1

12-01-2013 12:46 AM in reply to: ngetorru

I am just having the same problem. It's really annoying, as I'm in firmly need to use AutoCAD in my degree.

Any ideas?

Thank you

New Member
mohsen177
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-14-2013
Message 10 of 32 (55,016 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2014 and Windows 8.1

12-14-2013 01:45 PM in reply to: mv.delatorre

I had the same problem. My ultimate Solutuion:

 

Update your Graphic card driver. For win 8.1 you are in need of new Driver for your hardware. Maybe all hardware drivers

 

It works now

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!