AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
vadim
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 1 of 46 (6,820 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCad 2013 on Windows 8 bug - missing dialog boxes and can't close CAD

6820 Views, 45 Replies
01-25-2013 10:47 AM

Found a huge bug in AutoCAD 2013 running on Windows 8.. .. as  soon as you click on the drop down box of "Look In" when doing Save As, it breaks AutoCAD… after that you can’t get any dialox boxes, can’t save and can’t even close autocad without doing "end task" from Task Manager.

 

Holy cow! That was it. I always keep my phone plugged in. I'd have never figured that out.

 

Thanks.

Mentor
KateMorrical
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 2 of 46 (6,814 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2013 on Windows 8 bug - missing dialog boxes and can't close CAD

01-25-2013 11:22 AM in reply to: vadim

AutoCAD 2013 is not currently supported on Windows 8.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=19048377&linkID=9240617

--
Kate Morrical
Digital Design Manager
Washington, DC
BIMmuse.com
Active Member
vadim
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 3 of 46 (6,804 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2013 on Windows 8 bug - missing dialog boxes and can't close CAD

01-25-2013 12:11 PM in reply to: vadim

yes, I am aware it is not supported as of right now, but I am sure eventually it will, and perhaps someone can find a work around in the meantime, not to mention, I am sure Autodesk engineers would love to hear about this problem before as I am sure Windows 8 will be embraced by thousands of users rather sooner than later.

*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,761
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 4 of 46 (6,790 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2013 on Windows 8 bug - missing dialog boxes and can't close CAD

01-25-2013 12:48 PM in reply to: vadim

vadim wrote:

.... I am sure Windows 8 will be embraced by thousands of users rather sooner than later.


I'm thinking that Win7 is going to hang on as long as XP did (and XP still is :smileyhappy: ).

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 46 (6,764 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2013 on Windows 8 bug - missing dialog boxes and can't close CAD

01-26-2013 08:16 AM in reply to: vadim

Hi,

 

>> as  soon as you click on the drop down box of "Look In" when doing Save As, it breaks

What does the taskmanager tell you about how it's processor-usage of AutoCAD?

 

When it hangs: what happens if you press <ESC>? If it's back then I guess your File-Dialog is just off screen, pressing escape does then close the dialog and bring you back to AutoCAD.

 

What happens if you first set FILEDIA to 0? If you then try to do a _SAVEAS does AutoCAD hang now or does AutoCAD ask for the filename in the command-line? If that works do the save of the drawing one time to your local disc, then switch FILEDIA back to 1 and restart AutOCAD. (that helped me one time I had a similar problem).

 

Do your test also after disconnecting your network-cable. I see Win8 a little bit sensitive with using network connections.

 

- alfred -

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
kmfinchpdx
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 6 of 46 (6,757 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2013 on Windows 8 bug - missing dialog boxes and can't close CAD

01-26-2013 01:00 PM in reply to: drjohn

Could be, although I suspect Autodesk will introduce Windows 8 compatibility with AutoCAD 2014. Too much money out there to be made for Autodesk not to do so.

Active Member
vadim
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 7 of 46 (6,528 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2013 on Windows 8 bug - missing dialog boxes and can't close CAD

02-05-2013 01:29 PM in reply to: vadim

unfortunatelly,

 

none of these tips worked... and the same issue on 2 different computers..

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 46 (6,516 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2013 on Windows 8 bug - missing dialog boxes and can't close CAD

02-05-2013 02:47 PM in reply to: vadim

Hi,

 

>> none of these tips worked

Interesting, so also with FILEDIA = 0 you can't save files?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
vadim
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 9 of 46 (6,515 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2013 on Windows 8 bug - missing dialog boxes and can't close CAD

02-05-2013 02:49 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

nope.. it just freezes as soonas I click on that drop down arrow box to navigate to location where I want to save,... if I use the Computer icon on the left, and navigate through there it works fine, but if I use the drop down box, then it just freezes and I have to End Task it.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,583
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 46 (6,511 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2013 on Windows 8 bug - missing dialog boxes and can't close CAD

02-05-2013 02:57 PM in reply to: vadim

Hi,

 

>> as soonas I click on that drop down arrow box to navigate to location where I want to save

If you would have set FILEDIA to 0 you would have been asked for a filename in the command-line, there would not be any dialog nor any arrow box to navigate to any folder. Sorry.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.