AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
New Member
mlepageQC
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
Message 1 of 9 (1,240 Views)

Autocad 2013 lt versus 2013

1240 Views, 8 Replies
12-11-2012 01:04 PM

My office is looking to upgrade their autocad licences and we're wondering what the main differences between the 2013 full and 'LT' are. We don't do any 3d, so our requirements would be for drafting purposes only. 

 

Right now some of us are working with 2008 full and others 'LT'. It seems like commands such as inserting photos and 'syncing' attributes in blocks aren't available in 2008 'LT' (to name a few...). Are they now available in 2013lt?

 

Is there a listing of commands available in 2013 full and not LT that would help us compare which of the two versions we should upgrade to?

 

Thanks ahead of time,

Michelle.

Valued Contributor
Patchy
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Message 2 of 9 (1,237 Views)

Re: Autocad 2013 lt versus 2013

12-11-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: mlepageQC
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,494
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 9 (1,205 Views)

Re: Autocad 2013 lt versus 2013

12-12-2012 06:13 AM in reply to: mlepageQC

Download both 2013 versions, fully patch/update them, then field test to find the true answers you need in your office with your projects and your workflow.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,798
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 4 of 9 (1,187 Views)

Re: Autocad 2013 lt versus 2013

12-12-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: pendean

I'm with pendean.  When I was working at a smaller firm, it wasn't too hard to convince the powers-that-be get me the ful verison of AutoCAD while letting others who are "casual users" use thr LT version.

 

And liek the aforementioned built-in features of the full-version vs. LT, the full-version allows for extra custom add-on applications like LSP, VLX, ARX, etc that LT won't let you do.

*Expert Elite*
vladimir.michl
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎09-17-2006
Message 5 of 9 (1,177 Views)

Re: Autocad 2013 lt versus 2013

12-12-2012 01:45 PM in reply to: mlepageQC

Here is a list of 480 AutoCAD 2013 commands which are not available in AutoCAD LT 2013:

http://www.cadforum.cz/cadforum_en/command.asp?LT

 

Vladimir Michl, www.cadstudio.cz


*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,436
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 9 (1,174 Views)

Re: Autocad 2013 lt versus 2013

12-12-2012 01:54 PM in reply to: vladimir.michl

vladimir.michl wrote:

Here is a list of 480 AutoCAD 2013 commands which are not available in AutoCAD LT 2013:

 


Very nice. 

New Member
mlepageQC
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-11-2012
Message 7 of 9 (1,167 Views)

Re: Autocad 2013 lt versus 2013

12-12-2012 02:47 PM in reply to: mlepageQC

Excellent! Thanks for all the replies!

*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,798
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 8 of 9 (1,151 Views)

Re: Autocad 2013 lt versus 2013

12-13-2012 04:16 AM in reply to: mlepageQC

One could argue that since "time is money", the amount of productivity that will be lost using the LT version will cost more than the price to purchase the full version.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,494
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 9 (1,143 Views)

Re: Autocad 2013 lt versus 2013

12-13-2012 05:35 AM in reply to: murray-clack

That's assuming the end user is keenly aware of all 480 missing commands and is in need of them most of the time: the argument holds no water for OOTB users of both AutoCAD and LT (and ARCH, MECH, Civil, MAP and so on) as well as button-hunting, non-right-click, non-Ribbon, non-customizing users.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.