AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
bodich
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-16-2012
Message 1 of 5 (541 Views)

Assigning material

541 Views, 4 Replies
01-14-2013 01:48 AM

I have box. After assign material it's still box. But after assign different material to some faces, box become 3d body and I can't simple look and change it's size in properties.

Tell me please how to assign different materials to different faces and box still remain box.

If it is impossible, could I look gizmo size? I need to control sizes of all objects with easy way without annotate. Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,581
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (526 Views)

Re: Assigning material

01-14-2013 10:37 AM in reply to: bodich

Hi,

 

>> Tell me please how to assign different materials to different faces and box still remain box.

IMHO impossible as in the real world, you can't assign one side of a wood to be metal.

 

If you create anything like painting you either accept that AutoCAD needs to "destructure" the box or you might add a thin box on that side you add something like paint or plastering.

 

BTW, even if the box was modified to include different materials you can modify the width/length/height easily using the subselection (<CTRL> <Click on Face>).

 

Acad_StretchSolidFace_2013_AN01.gif

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
bodich
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-16-2012
Message 3 of 5 (510 Views)

Re: Assigning material

01-15-2013 01:45 AM in reply to: bodich

 

In real world you can't move face of metal box in one click, isn't it (O_o I, thought AutoCAD is real world!!!)?  You absolutely did not undarstand my question (I'm not an idiot and can move faces).

PS: I can paint one face with another color or stick a tape in real world! The bark of the tree and the cut has identical texture???!!! (it's all in real world!).

People, help me please, answers like previous can't help.

 

Anyone  know how to solve my problem? I need to keep length, width, height parameters someway (I need this, no matter why)? It can be even not necessarily different materials, it can be just different texture maps. Thank you for helping.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,581
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 5 (499 Views)

Re: Assigning material

01-15-2013 04:02 AM in reply to: bodich

Hi,

 

>> I can paint one face with another color or stick a tape in real world!

That's a new material on top of your existing one.

 

>> You absolutely did not undarstand my question

Sorry.

 

>> I'm not an idiot

Again sorry, I never thought that, I never wrote that,

I just wanted to help, nothing more. Great to get that response!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
bodich
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-16-2012
Message 5 of 5 (497 Views)

Re: Assigning material

01-15-2013 04:16 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
Again sorry, I never thought that, I never wrote that,

I just wanted to help, nothing more. Great to get that response!

 

Thank you for helping... Question still open(((

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.