Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Annotative Scaling someone help.

19 REPLIES 19
Message 1 of 20
AutoDac12
1489 Views, 19 Replies

Annotative Scaling someone help.

So in searching for a few days what Ive found is that most people dont know annotative and how to use it. So I couldnt find an answer. 

but basically I have a very simple drawing and Im new to this so bare with me although Ive tried everything. 

model space simple draw evertyhing 1 to 1 full size. 

I then select viewport and chose the size I want to view the piece Ive drawn. simple.

model space has a selector bottom right for annotative scale for your items although alot of people think its for your drawing objects. 

either way I chose the item text or demensions and select the annotative scale I want to use which matches my viewport scale. 

my text height for all my selections is 1/8. my annotative is clicked on and everything is set up. 

and bam my text shrinks like no bodies business. 

now ive read someone said well just increase your text height. well I can do that to 1/2" and its fine but is that what we are supposed to do? 

I will attach my drawing and its at 1/8 paper text height. Im working in archtect units. 

19 REPLIES 19
Message 2 of 20
AutoDac12
in reply to: AutoDac12

Sorry my scales were messed up in the first file I fixed them. I had been playing with it. But here are the viewports with the correct scales. 

Message 3 of 20
nestly2

Wecome to the Autodesk forums.

Your dimension isn't really "shrinking" it's just not scaling because it only has one annotative scale assigned to it.  Try adding 6" = 1'-0" to the dimension and then reselect the scale in the scale list at the bottom to update the VP.  Your dimension text and arrows should now be the same size in both viewports.