Did you mean: 

Annotative Dimensions problems

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
elsvernimmen
1965 Views, 4 Replies

Annotative Dimensions problems

Hi,

I'm having some issues using annotative dimensions and text. My task is to draw several (quite simple) plans with dimensions. I would like to be able to use the same settings (dimstyles etc.) for each plan, but the problem is that the buildings often differ a lot in scale. So annotative dimensions and text seemed the best solution.

I've never used this feature before and it seems there must be something wrong in the settings I'm using because the objects keep on scaling when I change my viewport scale. I've read some posts on the forum but can't seem to find the problem...

I've uploaded the file in question as well. Suggestions anyone?

Thanks

Tags (2)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Bob_Zurunkle
in reply to: elsvernimmen

Without actually looking at the file, there are settings that appear on the lower right hand of your AutoCAD taskbar. They look like an Architect's/Engineer's scale viewed from the end. There are2 of them. play with those -- one will tell it to add scales every time you change viewport scales.

Another suggestion is to use HELP to read up about your system variables -- especially all that begin with ANNO....

You might also want to use HELP to read up all about annotation objects. Good luck to ye!

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted 🙂
Message 3 of 5
elsvernimmen
in reply to: Bob_Zurunkle

Thanks for the tips!

I've already tried using the two buttons on the right, but turning them on or off doesn't seem to solve the problem. So I checked my system variables like you said:

ANNOALLVISIBLE       1

ANNOAUTOSCALE     -4

ANNOTATIVEDWG     0

Seems right to me, or am I wrong? Annotative scale is 1:1 in the whole document, so i don't think that's the problem either..

Message 4 of 5