Did you mean: 

Annotative dimensions and text in viewports

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
nmcook1
2395 Views, 13 Replies

Annotative dimensions and text in viewports

I am looking for an easy step by step discussion or video on how to use annotative text and dimensions.  It seems like there are many set variables that a beginner needs to know and set in order for it to work.  For a start I would just like to be able to have dimensions in model space that will show up in two differently scaled viewports and have the text show as 3/32" high in paper space in both viewports.  One viewport scale is 3/16" = 1'-0" and the other is 1/8" = 1'-0".   I should also add that I am using the Autocad classic menu in Autocad 2015, not the ribbon.  I am not an Autocad beginner, just new to annotation.

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
nestly2
in reply to: nmcook1

Here's a pretty decent video that covers most of the important parts.  As noted in the video, the key is to annotate through a scaled viewport so your annotations are assigned the correct annotative scale.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPP2dpzbMB4

Message 3 of 14
nmcook1
in reply to: nestly2

That is a good video.  What I tried to do was change existing dimensions to be anotative by checking the anotative box in the dimension style and also turning on annotation in the properties box for a single dimension.  I also gave that one dimension two scales.  None of that worked so maybe I need to do this from scratch like it was in the video.  Thank you.

Message 4 of 14
nestly2

You should be able to change both an existing dimstyle and an existing dimension as long as the existing dimensions are assigned the correct scale.

Attach a sample drawing if you like.

Message 5 of 14
nmcook1

The correct scale would be the same scale as the viewport, wouldn't it?
Message 6 of 14
nestly2

nmcook1 wrote:
The correct scale would be the same scale as the viewport, wouldn't it?