AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Product Support
Shawn_Niles
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
Message 21 of 45 (8,087 Views)

Re: ACAD 2014 and Educational Version plot stamp

11-15-2013 09:47 AM in reply to: maxim_k

The educational plot stamp has been a part of the Educational version of AutoCAD for a long time. It was meant to prevent commercial use being done with an educational version of the product. Recently, a decision was made to no longer show this stamp, even on files created with the EDU version. Starting with the installation of SP1 for the 2014 products, files will no longer show the stamp when plotting, nor will they give a warning message when opening them. However, the stamp is still attached to the file even though it is not showing.

 

So yes, the danger is that someone with 2014 SP1 could open a file and work on it without realizing it has the educational stamp on it. If they then send that to someone without SP1, or on an earlier version, that user will see the warning and the stamp. At this time, using 2014 with SP1 will still propagate the stamp to other drawings, as in the past. The current plan (and please keep in mind that this could change), but the current plan is that the 2015 version will have the ability to remove the stamp altogether if a Save is performed. You'd then be able to save a file in 2015, and send it back to users on earlier versions, and the stamp will be gone altogether. More information will be provided on this as we go on as to what the final implementation will be.

 

Please see the link below for additional information:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=17886605&linkID=9240617

 



Shawn Niles
Active Contributor
durentech
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-31-2010
Message 22 of 45 (8,061 Views)

Re: ACAD 2014 and Educational Version plot stamp

11-15-2013 11:57 AM in reply to: Shawn_Niles

Thanks so much for clearing this up, Shawn. You provided excellent product support on this issue when I created my recent support request. I'm glad the others could hear this directly from you rather than from my recollection. Hope I didn't misquote you in any way.

Product Support
Shawn_Niles
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎12-02-2008
Message 23 of 45 (8,054 Views)

Re: ACAD 2014 and Educational Version plot stamp

11-15-2013 12:03 PM in reply to: durentech

No problem at all. I do hope it helps to clear it up somewhat as to the direction Autodesk is going on this issue.



Shawn Niles
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,277
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 24 of 45 (8,054 Views)

Re: ACAD 2014 and Educational Version plot stamp

11-15-2013 12:08 PM in reply to: Shawn_Niles

Seems reasonable, but there are several questions which spring directly to mind.

 

Whats to tell us that a contractor, vendor, or other drawing provider is running "bootleg" educational software to artifically lower their prices?  While we have every intention of remaining legal, whats to prevent us from being undercut by less legitimate operations?

 

Whats to prevent less educated or scrupulous employees from taking work home and using an educational version?

 

If we end up with an office full of EDU content drawings with no way of detecting them, what risks do we face from an AutoDesk audit which subsequently detects them?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
nestly2
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 25 of 45 (8,036 Views)

Re: ACAD 2014 and Educational Version plot stamp

11-15-2013 01:40 PM in reply to: dgorsman

Yeah, this is a bit disturbing from a competitive perspective, but also from the standpoint where someone could unwittingly infect commercial drawings with the EDU designator.  If Autodesk is going to remove the warning and plotstamp, then remove the EDU designator as well.  I am going to be less likely to open a drawing posted in these forums knowing the EDU designator can be inadvertently transferred to a Commercial drawing without so much as a warning message.

Valued Contributor
jacoj
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 26 of 45 (7,870 Views)

Re: ACAD 2014 and Educational Version plot stamp

12-10-2013 09:30 PM in reply to: nestly2
Good day, please help me on my support issue. Im the CAD admininstrator and a draughtsman, we recently found a issue where one off my users started getting the educational stamp on his drawing sheets. after long trouble shooting I found out that he actually brought in a component form GRABCAD which was created in an educational version, needless to say I was replicating his issue om my machine for trouble shooting purposes, but now I recieve the stamps on some off my drawings, but only after it has been checked to the Vault, and checked back out. we dont owe any student licences, and all of our licences is current, How do I get rid off this "bug" on my PC? needless to say im currently losing hours off work because off this.. please assist
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,616
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 27 of 45 (7,847 Views)

Re: ACAD 2014 and Educational Version plot stamp

12-11-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: jacoj

jacoj wrote:
Good day, please help me on my support issue.
...

You have not indicated what release of AutoCAD or what SP you are using?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
jacoj
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Message 28 of 45 (7,826 Views)

Re: ACAD 2014 and Educational Version plot stamp

12-11-2013 08:19 PM in reply to: JDMather
we are using 2013, SP 1
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,616
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 29 of 45 (7,799 Views)

Re: ACAD 2014 and Educational Version plot stamp

12-12-2013 08:23 AM in reply to: jacoj

jacoj wrote:
we are using 2013, SP 1

It looks like an upgrade to 2014 SP1 will solve your problem.  :smileywink:

 

Back to the source of the original problems - there should have been two warnings, which were apparently ignored.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
jk91921
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 30 of 45 (6,740 Views)

Re: ACAD 2014 and Educational Version plot stamp

02-17-2014 04:04 AM in reply to: Shawn_Niles

This is good news.  While I'm currently still a student, I don't have much of a problem with the plot stamp, but it does take away from the look of some of my drawings.  I was going to suggest adding the ability to move it out of the way when plotting, perhaps to the extreme edge of my plot, but I'm glad to see that I don't have to.

 

Joe Krolikowski

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.