Did you mean: 

Creating a Solid

24 REPLIES 24
SOLVED
Message 1 of 25
operatorWMEUA
640 Views, 24 Replies

Creating a Solid

I'm not a CAD designer so I have just done the best I can with this. I need to make a mold to thermoform a plastic piece on so I've drawn this. I need to convert it to a solid so I can export an STL file for the 3d printer. I did this by extruding. Can someone tell me the steps? I've tried reading up everything I could find, but nothing is working.
mold.jpg

24 REPLIES 24
Message 2 of 25
Patchy
in reply to: operatorWMEUA

Like this:

Draw the end view with a polyline, then offset to get the interior.

Loft the outside, Loft the inside.

On top, draw the rectangles and use it to PRESSPULL thru the shell.

Union them.

Capture.JPGFollow the drawings and you'll get the hang of it.

Message 3 of 25

@operatorWMEUA hello, you can try this in the command prompt type "shademode" and see if this helps. thanks

Remember : without the difficult times in your LIFE, you wouldn't be who you are today. Be grateful for the good and the bad. ANGER doesn't solve anything. It builds nothing, but it can destroy everything...
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question. Kudos gladly accepted.
Message 4 of 25
dishithmc

Dear Mr. operatorWMEUA

Please find the attached video for your reference.

Hope this could help you.

Regards

Di****h.

Message 5 of 25

Man, you guys are great. I'll be spending some time on all these suggestions this morning and I'll share my results. Thanks everyone!

Message 6 of 25
operatorWMEUA
in reply to: Patchy

Patchy, I guess I should have changed the angle a bit more to show that the rectangles on the top are raised. Imagine like the knobbies on a dirt bike tire.

Message 7 of 25

I've gotten so far, but I'm stuck. I've recreated the drawing and I've made the rectangular array. Now I'm trying to extrude the array and I get "Cannot sweep or extrude an object of this type".