AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
49 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-05-2007
Post 1 of 10

XREF Linetype Scale

10036 Views, 9 Replies
07-06-2011 01:00 PM

I have an architectural drawing inserted in my drawing as an XREF.  The linetypes are showing up correctly, but they appear to be the wrong linetype scale.  I checked the linetype scale, and it's set to 1.00 in both the architect's drawing and in my drawing.  What else do I need to check?

 

Thanks!

Distinguished Contributor
128 Posts
11 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Post 2 of 10

Re: XREF Linetype Scale

07-06-2011 01:59 PM in reply to: tgick

Did you check the annotative scale?

Distinguished Mentor
832 Posts
38 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Post 3 of 10

Re: XREF Linetype Scale

07-06-2011 09:54 PM in reply to: tgick

tgick wrote:

I have an architectural drawing inserted in my drawing as an XREF.  The linetypes are showing up correctly, but they appear to be the wrong linetype scale.  I checked the linetype scale, and it's set to 1.00 in both the architect's drawing   and in my drawing.  What else do I need to check?

 

Thanks!


tgick,

 

if you are looking at your drawing from layout? also verify that PSLTSCALE=1

and you are working with a same 1 drawing unit in Model Space and Paper Space

 

if there isn't a match in drawing unit between model and layout then you can just

increase (or decrease) LTSCALE value until you'll get the best result.

 

Oh one more thing (cause we are talking about xrefs)

set VISRETAIN to 0  and reload the xref than restore VISRETAIN back to 1

 

 

cheers

moshe

 

 

Product Support
326 Posts
35 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Post 4 of 10

Re: XREF Linetype Scale

07-07-2011 06:36 AM in reply to: tgick

Hi,

 

You can also check whether the drawings have an Imperial/Metric unit mismatch.

 

If the drawing you have Xreffed has MEASUREMENT set to 0 it will use the Imperial ACAD.LIN for it linetype which is different to the metric ACADISO.LIN used for metric drawings. Metric have the MEASUREMENT variable set to 1.

 

If you make the MEASUREMENT variable the same in each drawing, reload the linetypes they should look the same in each file assuming all the other suggestions here have been done.

 

http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2011/ENU/filesACR/WS1a9193826455f5ffa23ce210c4a30acaf-4f46.htm

 

Thanks,
Dan 



Dan Scales
*Pro
1,814 Posts
80 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Post 5 of 10

Re: XREF Linetype Scale

07-07-2011 07:05 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Another thing to check the linetype assigned to the attached xref layer.

 

For example, open the Layer Manager and look at the linetypes of the attached xref's layers.  Does the linetype of the attached xref layer say, for example, "Center2", or does it say "[attached filename]:Center2" ??

 

(where "[attached filename]" represents the name of the DWG file attached as an xref)

 

If so, simply change the linetype of the attached xref's layers

*Expert Elite*
5,745 Posts
501 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Post 6 of 10

Re: XREF Linetype Scale

07-07-2011 11:33 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Close.  The MEASUREMENT system variable may automatically prompt for acad.lin / acadiso.lin, but many companies are using acad.lin with metric drawings regardless of the system variable setting.  A number of my clients do this which is mildly aggravating.  In my experience many users will manually select acad.lin as the file when manually adding linetypes, simply because thats what they have always done (and nobody asks "Why is there an ACADISO.lin file?").

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Product Support
326 Posts
35 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Post 7 of 10

Re: XREF Linetype Scale

07-07-2011 02:23 PM in reply to: tgick

tgick wrote:

I have an architectural drawing inserted in my drawing as an XREF.  The linetypes are showing up correctly, but they appear to be the wrong linetype scale.  I checked the linetype scale, and it's set to 1.00 in both the architect's drawing and in my drawing.  What else do I need to check?

 

Thanks!


Hi,

 

If you are happy to upload the drawings in question I can take a look and give you the exact cause of the linetype display issue.

 

Thanks,

Dan



Dan Scales
*Pro
1,814 Posts
80 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Post 8 of 10

Re: XREF Linetype Scale

07-08-2011 04:14 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

ANOTHER problem could be that all the objects in the XREF have a physical LTScale assigned to them

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-16-2014
Post 9 of 10

Re: XREF Linetype Scale

09-16-2014 08:40 PM in reply to: Dan.Scales

The mother file (plan) is done first. and save as to another file (elevation) both of them xref each other and other "son" files (e.g. reflected ceiling plan) save as from mother file. At beginning all files appear correct in LTscale. but after working with a few computer on the same file, the "son" file becomes wrong in scale - i.e. blow up to 25 times of the LTscale in view. all figures look same as the mother file, LTSCALE, PSLTSCALE, were never changed since set at day one. 

why is it so? 

I am working in 2014 / 2013/ 2015 in different pc. 

 

25 is the scale i used in property for typ linetype scale of individual type like dash. so as to look right in VP and in MS. Vp usually set to 1:25 in A3. 

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-16-2014
Post 10 of 10

Re: XREF Linetype Scale

09-16-2014 08:47 PM in reply to: riccilaab

The other issue comes, 

when the son file xref to the mother file, the xrefed mother file is scaled up with its lineweight abt 25 times, while you look into the mother file, it was alrit. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post