AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
randomnewb
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
Message 1 of 7 (1,946 Views)
Accepted Solution

XLINE; BUGGGED?

1946 Views, 6 Replies
07-30-2010 08:22 AM

this in an issue ive noticed for a long time now across a few versions of ACAD, not sure whats causing it. When i try to draw an XLINE sometimes the command will get locked into either horizontal or vertical mode, without me choosing that option. seems to based on the OSNAP pickpoint i grab maybe.

 

attached are pics of the process.

 

i run XLINE, pick endpoint and bam, its locked into horizontal mode, very annoying if im trying to make a vertical and horizontal line based off the same point.

 

 

http://www.autocadeverything.com/help/showthread.php?5837-XLINE-BUGGGED

 

anwser is in there, thanks for the reply though Thayne, i do appreciate knowing Autodesk has my back :smileyhappy:

 

i almost always have ortho turned on

Appreciate the additional details in the link explaining that it could be Ortho or as found in your case the O-Snap "Perpendicular" is enabled.

 

Just trying to help.

Alumni
thayne.wickam
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-05-2006
Message 2 of 7 (1,886 Views)

Re: XLINE; BUGGGED?

08-19-2010 07:47 AM in reply to: randomnewb

I am not aware of a setting to force XLINE to be Horizontal by default.

 

I can only  reproduce your issue with specific settings but the Default never seems to be Horizontal on my systems. Your graphics are a little hard to follow so I put together a test for you to try.

 

Please review the following linked video.
http://screencast.com/t/OTlhNGRi

In the video the issue is repeatable by having Ortho turned on when selecting the Endpoint of a Rectangle.

 

Try my example and see what your results are compared to my video or just verify that your Ortho is off when doing this process and see if you get the results you are looking for.

 

Let me know if this helps.



Thayne Wickam
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Contributor
randomnewb
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
Message 3 of 7 (1,883 Views)

Re: XLINE; BUGGGED?

08-19-2010 07:50 AM in reply to: thayne.wickam

http://www.autocadeverything.com/help/showthread.php?5837-XLINE-BUGGGED

 

anwser is in there, thanks for the reply though Thayne, i do appreciate knowing Autodesk has my back :smileyhappy:

 

i almost always have ortho turned on

Alumni
thayne.wickam
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-05-2006
Message 4 of 7 (1,861 Views)

Re: XLINE; BUGGGED?

08-19-2010 10:13 AM in reply to: randomnewb

Appreciate the additional details in the link explaining that it could be Ortho or as found in your case the O-Snap "Perpendicular" is enabled.

 

Just trying to help.



Thayne Wickam
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Contributor
randomnewb
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
Message 5 of 7 (1,857 Views)

Re: XLINE; BUGGGED?

08-19-2010 10:16 AM in reply to: thayne.wickam

 


thayne.wickam wrote:

Appreciate the additional details in the link explaining that it could be Ortho or as found in your case the O-Snap "Perpendicular" is enabled.

 

Just trying to help.


I know, and i do appreciate it, like i said, its good to know someone from A.desk is there for me

 

Valued Contributor
Mark_Richards
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Message 6 of 7 (1,179 Views)

Re: XLINE; BUGGGED?

01-15-2013 04:26 PM in reply to: randomnewb

Bumping this so maybe someone at Autodesk will pick up on it. AND MAYBE FIX IT :smileyhappy:

This is definately broken.  It's all about weather you have ther perpendicular option ticked in osnaps.  The broken part is that you can toggle (F3) Osnaps off and the behavior doesn't go away until you go in and un-tick perpendicular.

Makes me avoid XLINE.

 

This problem is not related to ortho mode being on as shown in the video above.

 

See this thread...

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2010/xline-polyline-anomaly/td-p/2550096#.UPXwxmfK6Ng

 

 

Thanks.

New Member
ScottCS24
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-05-2014
Message 7 of 7 (46 Views)

Re: XLINE; BUGGGED?

09-05-2014 08:12 AM in reply to: randomnewb

I also had this issue in AutoCad LT 2015 it seems that whatever the bug, if both perpendicular and tangent are selected in object snap, the bug disappears.  So if you use perpendicular alot, and hate to turn it on and off all of the time, just turn on tangent.  Hope this helps anyone with the same issues.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.