AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 6 (5,949 Views)

Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

5949 Views, 5 Replies
08-06-2010 01:29 PM

Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

 

Please, see the attached image that shows my question

 

I tried to change the color of the blocked lines but they keep with the same color…why?

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
Distinguished Mentor
wengle
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 2 of 6 (5,939 Views)

Re: Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

08-06-2010 02:35 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

A block is nothing more than a dwg that is inserted into another dwg. In order to change the color, you must open up the original dwg, change the color(s), save it and then when you insert it into another dwg, the colors will change. Also, sometimes the block(s) will be assigned to the color of the layer you are currently working on, so, it's best to insert on a layer with white color.

Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,360
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 3 of 6 (5,934 Views)

Re: Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

08-06-2010 03:04 PM in reply to: wengle

that's great...

 

i did all that but

 

when i try to change the color of the block it doesn't change...my question is: why we can't change the color of the block?

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,893
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 4 of 6 (5,930 Views)

Re: Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

08-06-2010 03:41 PM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Edit the original block and change all entities to Layer 0, all entities' Color to By Block.

*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 1,132
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 5 of 6 (5,892 Views)

Re: Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

08-08-2010 08:24 PM in reply to: ToanDN

You can either set the layer of all sub-objects in the block to Layer 0 and set their colour to Bylayer, or

set their colours to Byblock.

 

3wood

CAD KITS

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,893
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 6 of 6 (5,886 Views)

Re: Why the color of the Block doesn't change as we change the color?

08-09-2010 12:16 AM in reply to: 3wood

I think set the color of the sub-objects in the block to By Block will give you more control (able to override the color of the block to something different than the color of the layer it's on).  

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!