AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
wkoehler3
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 1 of 12 (282 Views)

Why is this happening?

282 Views, 11 Replies
10-10-2012 05:18 AM

Over the past few weeks I've had a problem recurring and spreading through my drawings.  When I select a block I get a symbol I've never seen and the block will not copy or move where I snap.  It's as if there is some sort of offset in place.  And once an "infected" block touches another, it the next one has the same problem.

 

 

I've attached a screenshot of the unknown symbol.

 

Can anyone tell me what this is and how I get rid of it?

 

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
pkolarik
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 2 of 12 (274 Views)

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:01 AM in reply to: wkoehler3

That almost looks like the "constraints" symbol? I don't use them at all, so don't know anything about them. Maybe look into turning constraints off?

Active Member
wkoehler3
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 3 of 12 (263 Views)

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:07 AM in reply to: pkolarik

That is what the symbol looks like, but there are no constraints on these blocks.  

 

Distinguished Contributor
imadhabash
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Message 4 of 12 (258 Views)

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:13 AM in reply to: wkoehler3

Hi,

 

it's a PARAMETER item , usually used to locks elements in position.

 

 

Please mark this as the solution if it resolves your issue.Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Active Member
wkoehler3
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 5 of 12 (254 Views)

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:20 AM in reply to: imadhabash

But we've been using these blocks for years over 10 years.  Why would they suddenly have parameters attached to them?  They aren't there when I first insert the block.  And I can have 2 copies of the same block, one has the problem, the other does not.

 

And the biggest question, how do I stop this from spreading to all the other blocks in the drawing as it seems to be doing?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,570
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 12 (245 Views)

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:40 AM in reply to: wkoehler3

wkoehler3 wrote:

  Why would they suddenly have parameters attached to them?  



Do you have Infer Constraints turne on?

Infer Constraints.png

 

Also, notice that it is not necessary to paste to Word.doc save doc attach doc, download doc, open doc file.

Simply paste to MSPaint and click the Insert Image link above.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
wkoehler3
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 7 of 12 (237 Views)

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:49 AM in reply to: JDMather

Infer is off.  New issue added on.  Now I select one item to move, but several items move along with it, not to where I said to move, and at different angles.  This is driving me slowly mad!

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,570
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 12 (235 Views)

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:51 AM in reply to: wkoehler3

Can you attach an example file (*.dwg) here that exhibits this behavior?

 

Infer Constraints is off now - was it always off?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
wkoehler3
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 9 of 12 (226 Views)

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 07:01 AM in reply to: JDMather

Here you are. It seems to start with the items in red.  The indicated block is one of the problem ones

Contributor
f.lawton
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-05-2012
Message 10 of 12 (218 Views)

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 07:13 AM in reply to: wkoehler3

Try the delconstraint command

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.