AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Post 1 of 12

Why is this happening?

313 Views, 11 Replies
10-10-2012 05:18 AM

Over the past few weeks I've had a problem recurring and spreading through my drawings.  When I select a block I get a symbol I've never seen and the block will not copy or move where I snap.  It's as if there is some sort of offset in place.  And once an "infected" block touches another, it the next one has the same problem.

 

 

I've attached a screenshot of the unknown symbol.

 

Can anyone tell me what this is and how I get rid of it?

 

 

 

Mentor
151 Posts
17 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Post 2 of 12

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:01 AM in reply to: wkoehler3

That almost looks like the "constraints" symbol? I don't use them at all, so don't know anything about them. Maybe look into turning constraints off?

Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Post 3 of 12

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:07 AM in reply to: pkolarik

That is what the symbol looks like, but there are no constraints on these blocks.  

 

Mentor
170 Posts
15 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
Post 4 of 12

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:13 AM in reply to: wkoehler3

Hi,

 

it's a PARAMETER item , usually used to locks elements in position.

 

 

Please mark this as the solution if it resolves your issue.Kudos gladly accepted. ⇘
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Post 5 of 12

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:20 AM in reply to: imadhabash

But we've been using these blocks for years over 10 years.  Why would they suddenly have parameters attached to them?  They aren't there when I first insert the block.  And I can have 2 copies of the same block, one has the problem, the other does not.

 

And the biggest question, how do I stop this from spreading to all the other blocks in the drawing as it seems to be doing?

*Expert Elite*
28,589 Posts
2,120 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 6 of 12

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:40 AM in reply to: wkoehler3

wkoehler3 wrote:

  Why would they suddenly have parameters attached to them?  



Do you have Infer Constraints turne on?

Infer Constraints.png

 

Also, notice that it is not necessary to paste to Word.doc save doc attach doc, download doc, open doc file.

Simply paste to MSPaint and click the Insert Image link above.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Post 7 of 12

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:49 AM in reply to: JDMather

Infer is off.  New issue added on.  Now I select one item to move, but several items move along with it, not to where I said to move, and at different angles.  This is driving me slowly mad!

*Expert Elite*
28,589 Posts
2,120 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 8 of 12

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 06:51 AM in reply to: wkoehler3

Can you attach an example file (*.dwg) here that exhibits this behavior?

 

Infer Constraints is off now - was it always off?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Post 9 of 12

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 07:01 AM in reply to: JDMather

Here you are. It seems to start with the items in red.  The indicated block is one of the problem ones

Contributor
21 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎10-05-2012
Post 10 of 12

Re: Why is this happening?

10-10-2012 07:13 AM in reply to: wkoehler3

Try the delconstraint command

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post