Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where did these vertices on my offset ellipse come from? I want them gone now.

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
JackOfAllTrades
9229 Views, 8 Replies

Where did these vertices on my offset ellipse come from? I want them gone now.

I use vanilla AutoCAD 2012 to do strictly 2D drafting and designing.  I'm not a dedicated drafter by trade, but I interview them all the time at our company.  Today I interviewed one who wanted to show me some of his 3D work, so we pulled it up on my computer for a bit, and I let him show it to me.  I saved his drawing to my computer, closed Autocad completely, then later opened it back up to work on my drawings.

Anyways, I draw an ellipse.  It's completely normal.  I then offset that ellipse inward as I have done hundreds of times before.  It looks fine, but then I select it, and that's when I notice it's completely different.  It does not have four quadrant grips and a center one like the ellipse from which I offset it.  Instead a brown polygon approximation of this ellipse with dozens of "vertices" appears on top of my green offset ellipse, which also appears to be selected.  the vertices have the options to Stretch, Add, Refine, or Remove them.  The parent ellipse is completely normal.

I have never had this happen before so I figure he either changed some setting or his drawing did when he loaded it up in my AutoCAD.  It's quite likely he drew it in one of the AutoCAD 3D variants according to his resume or even in CADWorx.  I need to know how to get rid of this and back to my normal settings.  I have no idea whether this vertex grid will appear other places as well.  It's unusable for my purposes.  Circles seem to offset normally.

Any ideas on what settings I need to change to get back to normal?  Thank you.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
Patchy
in reply to: JackOfAllTrades

F1, look into PELLIPSE variable.

Message 3 of 9
artc2