AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
Ron-C
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎03-14-2008
Message 1 of 4 (856 Views)
Accepted Solution

Using Express Tools "Replace Block with another Block"

856 Views, 3 Replies
03-06-2012 11:53 AM

Just tryied using the express tools "Replace Block with another Block"

The operation worked.........it changed all the objects to the new block

and named it correctly but did not change the Attributes !  I did a "Synchronize Attributes"

but that did not correct the attribute info.

 

  Is this by design ? 

Thanks for any info.

Ron

Valued Mentor
gjrcmb
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 2 of 4 (834 Views)

Re: Using Express Tools "Replace Block with another Block"

03-06-2012 05:56 PM in reply to: Ron-C

After some experimentation here are my findings.

Case 1:  If I have two different blocks that are both defined with the "same" Attribute Definition Tag name, but the attribute in each block is assigned a different value, then when I use Replace Block and ATTSYNC the Attribute Definition Tag name of the replaced block changes but the value does not.

Case 2: If I have two different blocks that are defined with "different" Attribute Definition Tags, then both the Attribute Definition Tag name and value change.

So if you want to retain the value of the attribute in the block you can have the attributes tag names be the same.  If you actually need to update the value shown by the attribute, then the attributes need different tag names.

Not sure if that is any help or your end, but those are my observations.  Otherwise, Replace Block seems to be working.

*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 1,023
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 3 of 4 (823 Views)

Re: Using Express Tools "Replace Block with another Block"

03-07-2012 05:46 AM in reply to: Ron-C

Instead of replace blocks, you can try redefine the old block with new block objects (copy and paste in block editor) and SYNC it later.

 

3wood

CAD KITS

Mentor
Ron-C
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎03-14-2008
Message 4 of 4 (819 Views)

Re: Using Express Tools "Replace Block with another Block"

03-07-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: Ron-C

Thanks to all..........

I'll use both suggestions !

Ron

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.