AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Active Contributor
mwaldenmeyer
Message 1 of 5 (1,548 Views)

Use fields in a table to pull dimension text for cut lists

1548 Views, 4 Replies
06-18-2010 03:40 PM

I am new to fields but I would like to know if there a way to use fields in a table to pull the measurements out of dimensions snapped in a drawing (or layout) and place them in that table.

I create framing drawings and am looking for a quick way to put together a cut list without having to manually type dimensions into a table.

Thoughts?

Thanks for any tips.

Valued Contributor
nikolap
Message 2 of 5 (1,518 Views)

Re: Use fields in a table to pull dimension text for cut lists

06-19-2010 05:09 AM in reply to: mwaldenmeyer
Yes, it is quite possible :smileysurprised:) Double click table cell, then right click and choose Insert Field... When In Field dialog: Field names: choose Object Object type: click on button Select object and then click on appropriate dimension in drawing Back in Field dialog: Property: choose Measurement Format: Current units (or some other) There is button for Additional formating, if needed Press OK and - voila - you've got dimensions in table If objects in drawing change some dimensions, after drawing regeneration fields are updated.
Active Contributor
mwaldenmeyer
Message 3 of 5 (1,514 Views)

06-19-2010 05:31 AM in reply to: mwaldenmeyer

Thanks!

That worked very well.

Now to one up it, is there a way to make it an easily repeatable command or command string? Would this have to be a LISP expression? This functionality is already very cool, I would like to automate it a little, if possible.

Thanks again for your help!

hughes.huck
Message 4 of 5 (850 Views)

04-19-2012 06:05 PM in reply to: mwaldenmeyer

This is great!

Another follow up... can you do the opposite? i.e. Create a table and have multiple labels throughout your sheet source a cell in that table?

hughes.huck
Message 5 of 5 (837 Views)