AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
mnyrac
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 1 of 8 (235 Views)
Accepted Solution

Unique Dimension

235 Views, 7 Replies
02-06-2013 08:35 AM

We are doing work for a DOT and they are asking us to dimension our right of way different than any I've seen before.  I'm not 100% sure how to do it.  I have attached an example of what they want.  Basically it looks like a 3 sided rectangle with arrows and a dimension on the top.  I was going to do this with a dynamic block, but I wanted to see if anyone else knew if it was done an easier way.

Thanks

Caryn

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 903
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 2 of 8 (205 Views)

Re: Unique Dimension

02-06-2013 01:37 PM in reply to: mnyrac

I have this one already made.  It is in the 00'-0" format though.  You can edit as you need to fit your use in the block editor though.

Active Contributor
mnyrac
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 3 of 8 (200 Views)

Re: Unique Dimension

02-06-2013 01:50 PM in reply to: steve216586

Basically the same type of route I was going to take.  The only thing I want to do differently is an automatic dimension versus attributes that I have to update.  

 

Thanks!

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 903
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 4 of 8 (194 Views)

Re: Unique Dimension

02-06-2013 01:58 PM in reply to: mnyrac

If you create one which is automatic, I sure would appreciate you allowing me to have that!!  I gave up trying to create it years ago.

Active Contributor
mnyrac
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 5 of 8 (192 Views)

Re: Unique Dimension

02-06-2013 02:00 PM in reply to: steve216586

Will do... I should know in the next hour or so if it can be done.  The problem I'm having is that my text won't rotate with the line.

Active Contributor
mnyrac
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 6 of 8 (180 Views)

Re: Unique Dimension

02-06-2013 03:32 PM in reply to: mnyrac

Try this.  If you have questions, let me know!

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 903
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 7 of 8 (165 Views)

Re: Unique Dimension

02-07-2013 05:55 AM in reply to: mnyrac

That is absolutely perfect.  You are wonderful!!  :-)  Thank you so much.  I'm not even going to ask how you linked the text.  I'm just grateful.

Active Contributor
mnyrac
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 8 of 8 (159 Views)

Re: Unique Dimension

02-07-2013 06:35 AM in reply to: steve216586

Ha.. tell me more :smileyhappy:  

 

I tried several different ways to link the text, but dimensions and labeling line features (Civil 3D) wouldn't rotate the line.  It's actually just MText.  

In Mtext, right click and Add field

In the Field dialog box Choose Object; choose your object; pick what you want to display (length, bearing, etc) and you can customize the precision and appearance.  It's really kinda slick.  :smileyhappy:

 

Caryn

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.