AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Mentor
tim.turner
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎04-26-2005
Message 1 of 13 (1,042 Views)
Accepted Solution

Unable to break table link in 2012

1042 Views, 12 Replies
07-29-2011 09:11 AM

I have a table linked to an Excel spreadsheet, I unlock the cells and then right click but the Data Link sub-menu is greyed out and not available. Cannot delete the link in the data link manager becasue it is in use. Had to open the drawing in 2011 and detach the data link. 2008 also detached the link no problem.

Anybody else tried to detach a table link yet and were you sucessful?

2012 SP1 says it is supposed to fix it. Now if I can only get IT to install it.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 2 of 13 (1,024 Views)

Re: Unable to break table link in 2012

08-01-2011 06:41 AM in reply to: tim.turner

Hi Tim,

This is a known issue and it is planned to be addressed soon.

Thanks for letting us know.

Regards,

Luciane

Distinguished Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎01-13-2003
Message 3 of 13 (972 Views)

Re: Unable to break table link in 2012

09-15-2011 12:34 PM in reply to: luconceicao

Wow.  Still no answer for this?  This has been a known issue for at least the last 3 releases, probably longer?

 

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Valued Mentor
tim.turner
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎04-26-2005
Message 4 of 13 (972 Views)

Re: Unable to break table link in 2012

09-15-2011 12:42 PM in reply to: DaveDrahn

2012 SP1 says it is supposed to fix it. Now if I can only get IT to install it.

Distinguished Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎01-13-2003
Message 5 of 13 (950 Views)

Re: Unable to break table link in 2012

09-27-2011 04:17 PM in reply to: tim.turner
I did find this utility and it worked for me in 2011; courtesy of TherealJD: http://www.cadstudio.cz/en/download.asp?file=DXEdel
Active Contributor
pfilters
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Message 6 of 13 (864 Views)

Re: Unable to break table link in 2012

01-24-2012 04:17 PM in reply to: tim.turner

I have the same problem and the only thing I could do to move forward was to select the table and look in the properties palette for "cell data link."  This allows me to select another link which is what i needed to do.  i dont know if it will let you select "none" to break the link.  Changing the link that way really jacked up my table and its formatting but i was able to get the right info in the end after reformatting the table.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 7 of 13 (836 Views)

Re: Unable to break table link in 2012

01-27-2012 09:11 AM in reply to: pfilters

Hi,

 

Didn't the service pack help you?

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=17692441&linkID=9240618

 

If not, could you please upload a sample drawing?

 

Cheers,

Luciane

Active Contributor
pfilters
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Message 8 of 13 (832 Views)

Re: Unable to break table link in 2012

01-27-2012 09:37 AM in reply to: luconceicao

i can't tell what service packl i have.  i've looked at the "About" section and all it says is "Product Version: F.51.0.0" and no description as other people have posted when asking the same question about which service pack is installed.  So i downloaded it and tried to install it but received the error, "the service pack could not be installed because the expected autodesk product could not be located."  Other posts about this error say it's because a previous update is installed (e.g. if i am trying to install update 1.1 but i already installed 1.0).  Aparrently it needs to always update from version 0.0 or something.  the only thing i remember doing is possibly installing some type of update during my initial install because it checked online and found one available.  I've only had 2012 installed for a month or so.  Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 9 of 13 (819 Views)

Re: Unable to break table link in 2012

01-30-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: pfilters

OK, it looks like you don't have the service pack installed.

Maybe you downloaded the 32-bit version of the service pack but you have a 64-bit operating system (or vice-versa)?

Or perhaps you are installignhe service pack for the wrong product?

See http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=11775783&linkID=9243142, although this is for old versions.

I suggest you double-check the product and OS to find the appropriate update for your product.

 

Hope this helps you.

Cheers,

Luciane

Active Contributor
pfilters
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎05-30-2006
Message 10 of 13 (814 Views)

Re: Unable to break table link in 2012

01-30-2012 09:28 AM in reply to: luconceicao

i think you're right.  i tried to install the SP for AutoCAD, but apparently i need the SP for Autodesk Product Design Suite Standard 2012.  The question is, where do i find such a SP?  the inventor section of support has a similarly named Suite but it's called "Autodesk Factory Design Suite 2012" not "Product Design."  I looked in the mechanical section but it wasnt there either.

 

Ok, i just found the section.  It's under the "Design & Creation Suites" section under "Services & Support" (see attachment)  The problem is there isnt one for the Standard version.  This is all getting pretty silly.  I need an update for a product i have but it's embedded in a cluster of programs that don't have an update available.  How do i get around this?

 

By the way, i would need a 64bit version.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.