AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

jkbwill
Message 1 of 5 (165 Views)

Tutorial to upgrade ACAD 2004 modeling/rendering skills to ACAD 2012?

165 Views, 4 Replies
02-05-2013 06:15 AM

Hello,

I've been using ACAD 2004 for many years to create, light, apply materials to, and render 3d illustrations of buildings, machinery, furniture, and the like.  I have recently upgraded to ACAD 2012, and am having more difficulty than I expected translating my modeling/rendering skills from the 2004 version to the 2012 version. 

I have been consulting both the 2400-page user guide pdf, and also the on-screen 2012 user help.  Nonetheless, I still find that it sometimes takes me a very long time to figure out how to do a relatively simple 3d maneuver in the new program, and I also find that the 2012 version sometimes does strange things for no apparent reason.

Does anyone happen to know of a relatively simple tutorial that would show an experienced ACAD user like me how to upgrade 3d working knowledge from the 2004 to the 2012 ACAD issue?

Many thanks,

Jay

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Message 2 of 5 (154 Views)

Re: Tutorial to upgrade ACAD 2004 modeling/rendering skills to ACAD 2012?

02-05-2013 01:46 PM in reply to: jkbwill

Hi,

I guess there is no "one tutorial" as you might have to many options how you worked with 2004 and there are also to many different ways to work with 2012. So I have no "these 3 steps to go and all is ok"-tutorial, sorry.

But let's start at:

>> it sometimes takes me a very long time to figure out how to do a relatively

>> simple 3d maneuver in the new program

What are the problems you have, at least I would check the settings of the camera, if there is no one I would create one.

Then I would look to the materials (and textures, if there are any) and last but not least the lightning. The lightning may be the most important point as metal ray is working in a complete other way then the old shading models.