AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
mies07
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎03-16-2006
Message 1 of 9 (19,579 Views)
Accepted Solution

Turn off Grid

19579 Views, 8 Replies
05-30-2011 08:09 PM

Will someone please tell me how to set Autocad so that the silly grid is not displayed automatically at start-up? I have tried turning off F7, etc, and saving that to workspace, tried saving document as dwt, dwg in default template file location, etc, but no matter what I do the grid is always turned on when I launch Autocad.

Thanks

Mike

You most likely have a startup, or a forced profile startup, that flips this on: here in plain AutoCAD 2012 once GRID is turned off in a file, it stays off in that file.

 

Do you have an ACADDOC.LSP file?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,471
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 9 (19,577 Views)

Re: Turn off Grid

05-30-2011 08:12 PM in reply to: mies07

What exact version of R2012 are you running?

 

Are you noting it comes on in ALL files, or just when you start a new one?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
mies07
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎03-16-2006
Message 3 of 9 (19,575 Views)

Re: Turn off Grid

05-30-2011 08:26 PM in reply to: pendean

Product Version F.51.0.0

Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2012

Thanks

Distinguished Contributor
mies07
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎03-16-2006
Message 4 of 9 (19,573 Views)

Re: Turn off Grid

05-30-2011 08:31 PM in reply to: mies07

Just want to set it so when it fires up the grid is not turned on. I have also set QNEW to same dwt, that was saved while grid was turned off, etc.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,471
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 9 (19,557 Views)

Re: Turn off Grid

05-31-2011 05:44 AM in reply to: mies07

You most likely have a startup, or a forced profile startup, that flips this on: here in plain AutoCAD 2012 once GRID is turned off in a file, it stays off in that file.

 

Do you have an ACADDOC.LSP file?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 6 of 9 (19,506 Views)

Re: Turn off Grid

06-03-2011 07:10 AM in reply to: mies07

I had the same problem.  Dean is right.  Each file you work on must have the grid turned off as the system variable (GRIDMODE) is stored in each file.  If the startup template file is saved with the grid off it should solve the problem for startup.  You can add (SETVAR "GRIDMODE" 0) to your startup customizations to force this in every drawing you open.

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
Distinguished Contributor
mies07
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎03-16-2006
Message 7 of 9 (19,478 Views)

Re: Turn off Grid

06-04-2011 12:09 PM in reply to: coopdetat

Yes, I ended up just setting "load acad.lsp with every drawing" and included (setvar "GRIDMODE" 0). Since this file is customized locally,  I can leave default template files as is for those that do want to work with grid on at startup.

Thanks.

New Member
shafeie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-18-2008
Message 8 of 9 (18,879 Views)

Re: Turn off Grid

08-28-2011 03:35 AM in reply to: mies07

I've tried this trick and it's working...
click on new file and right click on your start template and choose properties and on properties window opened copy the location of file close properties window and new file dialog box on ACAD.

now click on open file and paste the location you'd picked from properties box on the filename 

change the format to .DWT if necessary. Open your starting template and you can see the file is grid mode on just tap the F7 key to turn it off  ( or use "setvar gridmode 0") save the file and close it

now you should have your starting files in grids off.

I've tried this and it worked.

 

New Member
el_MI
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-26-2011
Message 9 of 9 (18,782 Views)

Re: Turn off Grid

09-01-2011 02:28 AM in reply to: shafeie

Thanks. That worked great for me!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.