AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
kschu1
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 1 of 9 (7,372 Views)

Text under dimension line

7372 Views, 8 Replies
01-11-2010 07:14 AM
Is there a way to place dimension text directly under the dimension line in addition to the normal dimension text above the dimension line?
*Jason Piercey
Message 2 of 9 (7,372 Views)

Re: Text under dimension line

01-11-2010 07:18 AM in reply to: kschu1
Try:

Text above the line\Xtext below the line

wrote in message news:6315883@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is there a way to place dimension text directly under the dimension line in addition to the normal dimension text above the
dimension line?
Valued Mentor
tim.turner
Posts: 1,674
Registered: ‎04-26-2005
Message 3 of 9 (7,372 Views)

Re: Text under dimension line

01-11-2010 07:28 AM in reply to: kschu1
Nice little lisp "Dimnote.lsp" to add notes to dimensions here: http://www.cadalyst.com/management/news/tips-amp-tools-weekly-vol-12-no-26-7751
It would be nice to be able to pick multiple dims though, and have it remember typed entries in session.
Active Contributor
kschu1
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 4 of 9 (7,372 Views)

Re: Text under dimension line

01-11-2010 07:29 AM in reply to: kschu1
I inserted the "<>\Xtext" in the properties "Text override" dialog box and it worked perfectly. Thanks!!
Active Contributor
kschu1
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 5 of 9 (7,372 Views)

Re: Text under dimension line

01-11-2010 07:45 AM in reply to: kschu1
By using "\Xtext" it places text below the dimension line, but it also places the top and bottom text to close to the dimension line. By using "<>\P\Xtext" it corrects this problem. FYI
*Jason Piercey
Message 6 of 9 (7,372 Views)

Re: Text under dimension line

01-11-2010 07:58 AM in reply to: kschu1
The "offset from dim line" found on the text tab in the dimension
style manager will adjust the spacing.

wrote in message news:6315930@discussion.autodesk.com...
By using "\Xtext" it places text below the dimension line, but it also places the top and bottom text to close to the dimension
line. By using "<>\P\Xtext" it corrects this problem. FYI
*Dave Jones
Message 7 of 9 (7,372 Views)

Re: Text under dimension line

01-11-2010 08:05 AM in reply to: kschu1
kschu1 wrote:
> By using "\Xtext" it places text below the dimension line, but it also places the top and bottom text to close to the dimension line. By using "<>\P\Xtext" it corrects this problem. FYI

I was curious about your \P switch so I tried it here and it makes no
change in the location of the dim text in relation to the dim line.
Curious thing is though that the P switch won't work from the MText edit
dialog, only from the Properties pallette ??
--
Dave - DDP
Acad 2010 64 bit on Win 7 Pro
Intel I7-860 @2.8GHz
8GB DDR3 RAM
GeForce GTX260
*Jason Piercey
Message 8 of 9 (7,372 Views)

Re: Text under dimension line

01-11-2010 08:09 AM in reply to: kschu1
If you are in the mtext editor, just press enter instead of
trying to use the formatting codes.

"Dave Jones" wrote in message news:6315956@discussion.autodesk.com...

I was curious about your \P switch so I tried it here and it makes no
change in the location of the dim text in relation to the dim line.
Curious thing is though that the P switch won't work from the MText edit
dialog, only from the Properties pallette ??
Active Contributor
kschu1
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-01-2008
Message 9 of 9 (7,372 Views)

Re: Text under dimension line

01-11-2010 08:22 AM in reply to: kschu1
I may have responded to quickly to the issue - maybe more explanation. On the one dimension I tried it on, the top text and the below text both were touching the dimension line. I tried to adjust the "Text offset" with no change; so I used the \P\X coding and it worked.

When I tried it on other dimensions on my drawing the spacing was fine with the \X coding by itself. When I examined the difference between the dimensions it appears that when the dimension is aligned at an angle I have this problem of spacing that requires \P\X when it horizontal or vertical the \X coding is fine.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.