AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
cdaddy
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎02-20-2009
Message 21 of 34 (572 Views)

Re: Text Annotations Don't Display

11-02-2011 02:16 PM in reply to: mlabell

Any Updates on this? I'm trying to edit text on an extremely large and time-pressing project...it's becoming quite a problem...

 

 

Running AutoCAD Civil 3d 2011 64 bit

Valued Contributor
mlabell
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
Message 22 of 34 (566 Views)

Re: Text Annotations Don't Display

11-02-2011 04:28 PM in reply to: cdaddy

We are currently working directly with Autodesk development team on this issue now.  We have identified an exact process on creation of the issue and how make it happen on all computers with network connectivity.  We are now going through the process of finding what from the network side is creating the issue.  From what we have found through some extensive research this does happen in other programs and not just AutoCAD so it could be a Microsoft and WPF issue.

Mark LaBell, Jr.
Technical Leader
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
SSOE Group
www.linkedin.com/in/marklabelljr
Contributor
mrevelli
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-01-2007
Message 23 of 34 (540 Views)

Re: Text Annotations Don't Display

11-09-2011 09:13 AM in reply to: mlabell

Hi all,

I have the same problem, is there any new to resolve this issue?

Max

Active Contributor
trucdang3750
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-17-2010
Message 24 of 34 (538 Views)

Re: Text Annotations Don't Display

11-09-2011 09:18 AM in reply to: mlabell

Can you explain how to recreate the issue on demand?

Contributor
mrevelli
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-01-2007
Message 25 of 34 (534 Views)

Re: Text Annotations Don't Display

11-09-2011 09:25 AM in reply to: trucdang3750

AutoCAD 2011 sp2 + Windows XP PRO sp2, now when I try to use mtext command, Instead the command line displays a series of "** Undefined shape 84" messages.

Ant ideas?

Valued Contributor
mlabell
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
Message 26 of 34 (532 Views)

Re: Text Annotations Don't Display

11-09-2011 10:09 AM in reply to: mrevelli

mrevelli, you are the first person that I have heard of that has experienced the issue in a Windows XP environment.  Are you 64 bit or 32 bit?

 

trucdang3750 we have a prefetech file that when placed into the C:\windows\prefetch folder it will recreate the issue when the computer is rebooted.

Mark LaBell, Jr.
Technical Leader
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
SSOE Group
www.linkedin.com/in/marklabelljr
Contributor
mrevelli
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-01-2007
Message 27 of 34 (529 Views)

Re: Text Annotations Don't Display

11-09-2011 10:14 AM in reply to: mlabell

Windows XP PRO 32 bit

New Member
AndBurG
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 28 of 34 (494 Views)

Re: Text Annotations Don't Display

11-23-2011 03:24 AM in reply to: mrevelli

Hi all

 

hoping this may be of some use to you, we had several windows 7 machines running autoCAD 2012 each with the same issue. We run windows 7 with XP display mode, this is what we beleive to be causing the error.

 

We have found that installing "Microsoft Visual Basic Power Packs 3.0" from http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/vstudio/bb735936 has resolved the issue.

 

hopefully this will help you all resolve your issues.

 

Andy

 

 

 


Valued Contributor
mlabell
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
Message 29 of 34 (481 Views)

Re: Text Annotations Don't Display

11-26-2011 07:48 AM in reply to: AndBurG

@AndBurG

 

We tried installing the suggested power pack on several computers that get the issue and it didn't help in any way.  We still get the issue with no text in the drawings. 

 

Some more information on our findings, we can get the issue on Win 7 with full Aero theme or in XP / Classic mode (and a variety of other admin, and compatibility modes).  It appears to be is an issue that happens only when connected to the network.  If you borrow a license and work offline everything displays normally.  We also found that you can connect via VPN to work on a networked version of AutoCAD and the issue does not repeat.  The issue only occurs when logging onto a network and all logon processes as part of the Microsoft environment take place.

 

If anyone is at AU this week and would like to discuss the issue, drop me a line and we can chat about findings.

Mark LaBell, Jr.
Technical Leader
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
SSOE Group
www.linkedin.com/in/marklabelljr
New Member
jfzellmer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Message 30 of 34 (460 Views)

Re: Text Annotations Don't Display

11-29-2011 02:52 PM in reply to: mlabell

I'm have the same problem as all of you.  My OS is MS Windows 7 x 64.  I am using AC LT 2012.  I can get the text to appear only if I reboot the computer and then it is only on the initial opening of the program.  If I close AC and reopen, the text is gone again.  One thing I did notice is that on the original opening of the program after rebooting the computer, the small white wording showing progress in the lower left corner starts off with "First Run Initialization" or something like that, but the key words here are FIRST RUN and the program, although taking longer to load, displays text and operates properly.  When I close the program and reopen it, the progress wording starts with "Initializing", takes much less time to load, but no text is seen.  I hope this helps shed some new light on the problem.  Note: My network connection was connected the whole time and I had a basic theme.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.