AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
Rachel_Gee
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
Message 1 of 6 (1,608 Views)

Switching between Viewport and Layout

1608 Views, 5 Replies
02-18-2011 06:31 AM

Hi all

 

Ive got a problem that I'm hoping is easily solvable:

 

While on a layout tab, zoom in too far so that the viewport occupies the entire screen, double clicking into the viewport and reposition the drawing where needed but then meaning that I can no longer 'double click' outside the view port to switch back to the layout. I've had this happen on a few version's of autocad over the years (not only myself so I know I'm not the only one being dim!) and never found a 'quick fix' way out of it, other than using the 'undo' button all the way back to before the viewport became overzoomed - meaning loosing any work done, or closing without saving and restarting - again loosing work done.

 

Both of which seam over kill, there must surly be another way to switch betwen the two without double clicking outside the viewport??? Ive searched on the forum and the autocad help pages but could only find information on 'double clicking' which in this instance is somewhat usless.

 

Many thanks in advance :womanhappy:

 

Rachel Gordon

Valued Contributor
Neil47
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 2 of 6 (1,599 Views)

Re: Switching between Viewport and Layout

02-18-2011 07:17 AM in reply to: Rachel_Gee

You can switch between Paper and Model Space using the toggle/swictch on the statusbar. If it's not there put your cursor over the statusbar, right click and check on Paper/Model

Mentor
Johneng
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 3 of 6 (1,596 Views)

Re: Switching between Viewport and Layout

02-18-2011 07:19 AM in reply to: Rachel_Gee

Pspace command

New Member
Rachel_Gee
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
Message 4 of 6 (1,594 Views)

Re: Switching between Viewport and Layout

02-18-2011 07:21 AM in reply to: Rachel_Gee

thankyou both, i knew there must be an easy way :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 1,030
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 5 of 6 (1,507 Views)

Re: Switching between Viewport and Layout

02-19-2011 02:48 AM in reply to: Rachel_Gee

You can also define a named View in Paper Space, then when you working in the model space of a viewport, you can use VIEW command to retrieve the saved view in the paper space.

 

3wood

CAD KITS

Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Posts: 740
Registered: ‎09-14-2003
Message 6 of 6 (1,496 Views)

Re: Switching between Viewport and Layout

02-19-2011 08:18 AM in reply to: Rachel_Gee

Rachel Shalom,

 

Another way to resolve this is to use Viewport Max buttom (in middle status line / vpmax command)

double click inside viewport then VPMAX then zoom in as much as you like

click again on Viewport Max buttom to zoom out back to layout

 

Moshe

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.