AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 1 of 10 (776 Views)
Accepted Solution

Strange graphical error

776 Views, 9 Replies
04-08-2011 03:05 PM

As the picture shows... the points and one of the lines I drew ( just a temp construction line - which I am gizmo draging during the screen shot ) has line comming off of them.  ( also happening to the gizmo and the tips of regular lines )

 

this just started happening in the drawing a couple days ago.   Not sure what exactly happened to cause it.

if I save / shut down Acad, then restart it goes away for a short time then comes back.

 

also, when I zoom to extent, some of the construction lines do not show up - just 1/2 of line.  not all just a couple.

then when I zoom in/out they are fully drawn.

 

so first I checked to see if I had the latest drivers, I didn't and updated.  same problem.

 

anyone have this happen before or have any suggestions on what could cause it?

 

win 7 64bit

Autocad 2012

2.8GHz I7 quad

Nvidia FX1800

12gig ram.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.

Hardware acceleration was the problem.  I had to turn it off and now it works without the glitch.

Valued Mentor
mrkaplan
Posts: 476
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 2 of 10 (726 Views)

Re: Strange graphical error

04-09-2011 01:14 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

a graphic card drivers issue perhaps

Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 3 of 10 (724 Views)

Re: Strange graphical error

04-09-2011 01:31 PM in reply to: mrkaplan

Unlikely. I just stared working on another drawing for the same project.  it's just showing up on that one drawing.

 

it's really strange.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Valued Mentor
mrkaplan
Posts: 476
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 4 of 10 (703 Views)

Re: Strange graphical error

04-10-2011 01:38 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

have you tried

auditing the dwg , switching visual styles 2d wireframe / 3d wireframe 

if that fails you can try wblock the model

Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 5 of 10 (685 Views)

Re: Strange graphical error

04-10-2011 11:53 AM in reply to: mrkaplan

it's happening to another drawing now too....  Audit finds no errors.  it does go away when I switch to 2d wireframe instead of wireframe or 3d wireframe.  The only problem with that is the flicker when you rotate the screen or 3d rotate anything.

 

I'll try wblock the model next.

 

 

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Distinguished Mentor
jaich
Posts: 562
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Message 6 of 10 (626 Views)

Re: Strange graphical error

04-11-2011 12:27 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

Video card driver up to date?

Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 7 of 10 (624 Views)

Re: Strange graphical error

04-11-2011 12:30 PM in reply to: jaich

"so first I checked to see if I had the latest drivers, I didn't and updated.  same problem."

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 8 of 10 (508 Views)

Re: Strange graphical error

04-26-2011 11:22 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

Hardware acceleration was the problem.  I had to turn it off and now it works without the glitch.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Member
ahj24
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-04-2011
Message 9 of 10 (411 Views)

Re: Strange graphical error

05-04-2011 10:22 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

This happened to me too, when I restarted my computer it resolved.

Member
miteneks
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 10 of 10 (279 Views)

Re: Strange graphical error

07-11-2011 07:39 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

I have the same problem, with a Quadro 4000, driver version. 8.17.12.7061.

 

I wonder if it is specifically a Quadro driver problem. Anyone with other cards seeing the same thing?

 

Disabling hardware acceleration seems to be the only solution.

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.