AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
*BigBill
Message 1 of 10 (1,597 Views)

Solids FAT in acad?

1597 Views, 9 Replies
05-13-2010 04:52 PM
I have been told solids in Acad will baloon the file size and make modeling
with acad not feasible for something with 100 or 200 solid complex details.

Anyone care to comment on this? True or False?

--
XP Pro
Intel Core2 Duo
p8400 @2.26 GHz
2.99GB Ram

GeForce 9800M GTS video card



__________ Information from ESET NOD32 Antivirus, version of virus signature database 5113 (20100513) __________

The message was checked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus.

http://www.eset.com
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,504
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 10 (1,597 Views)

Re: Solids FAT in acad?

05-14-2010 04:40 AM in reply to: *BigBill
xref Enter F1
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Dean Saadallah
Message 3 of 10 (1,597 Views)

Re: Solids FAT in acad?

05-14-2010 05:00 AM in reply to: *BigBill
Try it and find out for yourself.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*BigBill
Message 4 of 10 (1,597 Views)

Re: Solids FAT in acad?

05-14-2010 05:23 AM in reply to: *BigBill
what does xref F1 mean

--
XP Pro
Intel Core2 Duo
p8400 @2.26 GHz
2.99GB Ram

GeForce 9800M GTS video card
wrote in message news:6391378@discussion.autodesk.com...
xref Enter F1

__________ Information from ESET NOD32 Antivirus, version of virus signature
database 5113 (20100513) __________

The message was checked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus.

http://www.eset.com





__________ Information from ESET NOD32 Antivirus, version of virus signature database 5113 (20100513) __________

The message was checked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus.

http://www.eset.com
*Dean Saadallah
Message 5 of 10 (1,597 Views)

Re: Solids FAT in acad?

05-14-2010 05:42 AM in reply to: *BigBill
XREF command
Tap F1 for Help with it.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 6 of 10 (1,597 Views)

Re: Solids FAT in acad?

05-14-2010 05:52 AM in reply to: *BigBill
Perhaps you and Dean should try that with a default
installation and see if you get anything related to the
XREF command.

I get two links to the AutoLISP documentation and
two links to Autodesk web pages.

Nothing about xrefs anywhere in sight.

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2011

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Email: string.Format("{0}@{1}.com", "tonyt", "caddzone");

wrote in message news:6391378@discussion.autodesk.com...
xref Enter F1
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,504
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 10 (1,597 Views)

Re: Solids FAT in acad?

05-14-2010 05:57 AM in reply to: *BigBill
Type the command xref, then on the right side of your keyboard hit the Enter key. Then in the upper left of your keyboard hit the key marked F1. Read whatever comes up on the screen. ;~)

xrefs are similar to MDT catalog parts.

In MDT (for users who understand how, in my experience that was about 1% of users), Inventor, SolidWorks, Pro/E and other MCAD programs each individual part is it's own separate file, just like the real world - a part is a part. A part is not a drawing and a part is not an assembly.

In these programs parts are externally referenced (hence xref in AutoCAD) into an assembly file - essentially the assembly file is simply a record of hyperlinks to the part files. So assemblies are a collection of parts and how they go together (Align, or Move, or 3DAlign in AutoCAD, assembly constraints in the other programs mentioned).

In the other programs mentioned the drawings are separate files, again virtual representations of the real world. Drawings in the real world are sheets of paper. They might represent parts or assemblies, but sheets of paper are not themselves parts or assemblies. They are drawings.

All of this confuses some people used to having everything in one file in AutoCAD (part/assemblies/drawings) but somehow in the real world the people working with physical parts, assemblies and drawings have no trouble understanding the differences.

In the virtual world it helps to create a disciplined folder/file project structure to keep track of where the 1s and 0s are used.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,504
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 10 (1,597 Views)

Re: Solids FAT in acad?

05-14-2010 06:00 AM in reply to: *BigBill
Looks like Tony has discovered that you might need to do a bit more searching in the Help (F1). I am so used to getting around in several CAD programs I have forgotten at least as much as I know about each. (Didn't this work in previous releases.) The navigation of Help screens is critical to this professional field.

I should have tried it myself, I'll leave it to you to go fishing as it is more important to learn the process than hand over the fish.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Dean Saadallah
Message 9 of 10 (1,597 Views)

Re: Solids FAT in acad?

05-14-2010 06:00 AM in reply to: *BigBill
Not my idea to tap F1 or to use Xrefs, but since you brought it up... JD
noted the actual command name, and anyone whose ever used any Help document
version in AutoCAD can navigate from there

F1>Command References>Commands>X commands>Xref gets you
http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2011/ENU/filesACR/WS1a9193826455f5ffa23ce210c4a30acaf-51fb.htm

Which leads to this:
http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2011/ENU/filesACR/WS1a9193826455f5ffa23ce210c4a30acaf-4b5a.htm#WS1a9193826455f5ff9110c71085341391d-4909
and this
http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2011/ENU/filesACR/WS1a9193826455f5ffa23ce210c4a30acaf-51f8.htm#WSc30cd3d5faa8f6d815ee671ffc2d62ae1-7fe1

No one said anything about a blind search, still an R2011 Help major
disaster.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Bill Gilliss
Message 10 of 10 (1,597 Views)

Re: Solids FAT in acad?

05-14-2010 07:00 AM in reply to: *BigBill
On 5/13/2010 7:52 PM, BigBill wrote:
> I have been told solids in Acad will baloon the file size and make modeling
> with acad not feasible for something with 100 or 200 solid complex details.
>
> Anyone care to comment on this? True or False?
>
>

If for some reason you must have that many actual solids in a single DWG
(as opposed to xref's), setting SOLIDHIST to 0 and removing the solid
history from each object will reduce the file size considerably:
Properties palette > Solid History > History > None.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.