AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
*elenist
Message 1 of 21 (5,458 Views)

slow autocad after block editor

5458 Views, 20 Replies
04-21-2010 12:02 AM
I noticed that after editing a block in the block editor, and coming out of
the block editor, the mouse is jumping when you move it as if you have snap
on (with a large number in X and Y).
The only way I found to solve this after going out of block editor, to be
able to work is to save the drawing and then regen!
Is there a way to solve this?
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 21 (5,458 Views)

Re: slow autocad after block editor

04-21-2010 05:29 AM in reply to: *elenist
>>>... is to save the drawing and then regen...<<<
Does REGENALL command work instead?

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*elenist
Message 3 of 21 (5,458 Views)

Re: slow autocad after block editor

04-23-2010 12:27 AM in reply to: *elenist
Regenall does not solve the problem. I have to save the drawing first and
then regen or regenall.

"Dean Saadallah" wrote in message
news:6377217@discussion.autodesk.com...
>>>... is to save the drawing and then regen...<<<
Does REGENALL command work instead?

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Distinguished Contributor
jamied2000
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 4 of 21 (5,458 Views)

Re: slow autocad after block editor

04-27-2010 05:35 AM in reply to: *elenist
I have the same issue but I have to close out of AutoCAD then start it back up. In order for the slowness to go away.
Active Contributor
jmcbride
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 5 of 21 (5,458 Views)

Re: slow autocad after block editor

04-29-2010 10:47 AM in reply to: *elenist
I have the same problem. I also get the glitchy actions when Windows or any other program (Symantec) goes to find updates. I uninstalled Symantec thinking that would help, but I still get the slowness. It is driving me crazy. Luckily, I also figured out that regen SOMETIMES helps, sometimes it doesn't.
Contributor
StephenMark
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎01-09-2003
Message 6 of 21 (5,458 Views)

Re: slow autocad after block editor

05-02-2010 07:27 PM in reply to: *elenist
Same issue here, found that a Zoom Extents, followed by a Zoom Previous fixed it up every time after coming out of the block editor.
New Member
BRADWILLIAMS8244
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
Message 7 of 21 (5,344 Views)

Re: slow autocad after block editor

07-23-2010 07:46 AM in reply to: StephenMark

Same problem here. I exit the block editor and return to my drawing and the cursor is slow to respond in the drawing space (fine outside of the drawing space on menus). I have to save, close the drawing, and re-open. Someone please help!

*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,810
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 8 of 21 (5,336 Views)

Re: slow autocad after block editor

07-23-2010 09:51 AM in reply to: BRADWILLIAMS8244

At least you guys HAVE a cursor.  When I come out of the Block Editor in 2011, my crosshairs completely disappear!  I still have the windows cursor to select pull-down menus and what-not, but no crosshairs.  Sometimes if I switch from paperspace to modelspace and back again (or vice versa), the crosshairs will come back, but not always.

Valued Contributor
kudzuman
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎01-15-2003
Message 9 of 21 (5,295 Views)

Re: slow autocad after block editor

07-28-2010 01:46 PM in reply to: murray-clack

We had one computer exhibit the abnormal erratic jumpy jerky cursor movements in the display area after using block editor, but other similar computers did not exhibit the behavior even with the same drawings.

I saw one place where setting UCSDETECT to 0 helped, but not in our case.

 

What did help was doing a zoom extents. That made the cursor behave normally again.

New Member
kevman_101
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
Message 10 of 21 (4,843 Views)

Re: slow autocad after block editor

11-04-2010 10:15 AM in reply to: kudzuman

I'm working for the IT in our college and our lab is also having problems with the cursor when exiting the block editor. It's pretty random as they can go for a few days trouble free then it does it. Once you point the cursor outside of the drawing and over the toolbars or menus, the cursoe is visible. You can still do commands and everything in the drawing... only you can't see where your at.

 

We have Windows 7, Nvidia Quadro FX 370 cards, latest video and autocad drivers.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!