AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
kempwm
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-26-2009
Message 1 of 5 (1,576 Views)

Shape file export

1576 Views, 4 Replies
06-24-2010 10:59 AM

I am trying to export 3d polylines with elevation data to a shape file.  I have tried using the "mapexport" and "mapexport4" commands, however when I open the shape files, all the lines have elevation = 0.  Any suggestions?

Distinguished Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 513
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 2 of 5 (1,571 Views)

Re: Shape file export

06-24-2010 11:57 AM in reply to: kempwm

Sorry I have to ask (but some don't know), are they truly justified as 3dPolys, as in the vertices elevations vary?  If the vertices elevations are consistant (such as contours) converting them to LwPolys at the proper elevation should fix it.

 

If they must remain 3dPolys, the ESRI Shapefile Specification has a PolyLineZ definition that should handle it.  However the MapExport command may not support it.  Thats on our to-do list, so if you don't find a solution, email me at dotson [at] dotsoft [dot] com and we'll float it to the top to quickly create a solution.

*Expert Elite*
vladimir.michl
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎09-17-2006
Message 3 of 5 (1,545 Views)

Re: Shape file export

06-24-2010 02:30 PM in reply to: kempwm

Also make sure you have the 3D option selected in SHP export - see:

http://www.cadforum.cz/cadforum_en/how-to-export-3d-versions-of-shp-files-tip7070

 

Vladimir Michl, http://www.xanadu.cz


Active Member
kempwm
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-26-2009
Message 4 of 5 (1,541 Views)

Re: Shape file export

06-24-2010 03:41 PM in reply to: vladimir.michl

The lines are in fact LWPolylines, not 3d polylines.  With the "mapexport" command, I recieve the following message, and no shape file is created:

 

Select objects:  Specify opposite corner: 533 found (533 duplicate)
Select objects:
"0 object(s) of 533 selected, exported in 0 sec(s).

Distinguished Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 513
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 5 of 5 (1,520 Views)

Re: Shape file export

06-25-2010 08:58 AM in reply to: kempwm

I'm able to reproduce that.  It seems on 2010 (unless there's a patch neither of us have) you can't specify the output type (in this case LINE).  The same dialog in 2011 allows you to specify LINE and it produces a usable file, the ELEVATION is output as an attribute under the Data tab.  Is Map2011 an option for you?

 

You may get a better answer in the Map discussion group or perhaps contact your reseller or other support option.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.