AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
butch81385
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 1 of 13 (2,712 Views)

Selection box not visible in some drawings

2712 Views, 12 Replies
05-03-2010 07:27 AM
I noticed today that in some drawing files I cannot see the selection box (clicking in a blank area and moving the cursor). I am still able to select things this way, both crossing and inclusive, but I just can't see where the cursor is or the selection box. In other drawings this works as it should with the blue and green boxes visible.

Under options>Display, the colors are set correctly. Under Drafting the aperture slider is at about halfway, but the preview is blank. Under Selection the pickbox size is at a fifth of the way up, but the preview is blank.

I have tried updated my graphics driver to the newest (and AutoCAD recommended) driver.

Any other suggestions?
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 13 (2,712 Views)

Re: Selection box not visible in some drawings

05-03-2010 08:52 AM in reply to: butch81385
>>>... in some drawings...>>>
Can you clarify more detailed distinctions between these and your "normal"
files?
Does your problem go away if you inserted one of these "some" into a
template file?

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Member
butch81385
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 3 of 13 (2,712 Views)

Re: Selection box not visible in some drawings

05-03-2010 09:09 AM in reply to: butch81385
Sorry for not being more clear, however it is hard to be clear with this. One existing file that I have opened does not have this problem (having opened it multiple times with and without the other drawings open). 6+ other drawing files that I have worked on today have had this problem (having opened it multiple times with and without any other drawings open). No other person has a similar issue with the same drawings. There does not seem to be any discernible difference between which drawings work and which ones do not. All have similar blocks, xrefs, etc. Some new and some old both have the same issue.


I don't know if I follow what you are asking regarding the template file. We do not typically use a template file since most of our drawings are made to match our clients' drawings (and are therefore created off of their border and background files). This problem seems to occur on files from multiple clients, so it should not be a corrupt block, etc.
Member
mseiser
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-05-2004
Message 4 of 13 (2,712 Views)

Re: Selection box not visible in some drawings

05-07-2010 09:29 AM in reply to: butch81385
I think I am having similar issues on multiple machines. The cursor simply disapears mostly when returning to paperspace. It has happened in model space on one machine. Resarting AutoCAD seems to reset things but this can be very annoying. 2010 works fine but 2011 has this issue. Any ideas would be great.

Thanks

Mark
Employee
randyyoung
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-18-2007
Message 5 of 13 (2,712 Views)

Re: Selection box not visible in some drawings

05-07-2010 07:00 PM in reply to: butch81385
Hi,

Can you post your view tune logs here. I have heard of this issue and never been able to reproduce it. Also what OS are you using?

Thanks in advance,
Randall Young
AutoCAD Test Development


Randall Young
Autodesk Lead Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.

*Tony Tanzillo
Message 6 of 13 (2,712 Views)

Re: Selection box not visible in some drawings

05-08-2010 10:30 AM in reply to: butch81385
Describe your toolspace (visible palettes and if the
ribbon is used, what tab is active).

Also, when this happens, start typing, and notice if
what you type appears on the command line, or not.
For example, do you ever find it necessary to click
on the command line before AutoCAD recognizes
what you type?

Also try to recognize any pattern involving the use of
certain tools or docked/floating palettes, ribbon tabs
or tools on them, and also using the 'Big A' application
button.

The problem (I've seen it too, but have not been able
to consistently reproduce it), is that something is taking
the input focus away from the drawing view window.

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2011

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Email: string.Format("{0}@{1}.com", "tonyt", "caddzone");

wrote in message
news:6387670@discussion.autodesk.com...
I think I am having similar issues on multiple machines. The cursor simply
disapears mostly when returning to paperspace. It has happened in model space on
one machine. Resarting AutoCAD seems to reset things but this can be very
annoying. 2010 works fine but 2011 has this issue. Any ideas would be great.

Thanks

Mark
Member
mseiser
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-05-2004
Message 7 of 13 (2,712 Views)

Re: Selection box not visible in some drawings

05-14-2010 04:27 PM in reply to: butch81385
Hi Randy,

Sorry about the delay, got busy.
To further explain, the cursor almost always disappears when switching from model space to paper space (it has happened ocaisionally the other way around). All of the computers that have 2011 on them have this problem and have different video cards.
One computer that has stopped having this problem once I installed a Calcomp digitizer tablet driver on it. Go figure??

Attached is a combined tune log for two computers. The log labeled "Bill U" is one computer still having the problem.
the other, labeled "Mark S" is the one with the digitizer installed. you will notice the settings are identical.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Member
mseiser
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-05-2004
Message 8 of 13 (2,712 Views)

Re: Selection box not visible in some drawings

05-14-2010 05:00 PM in reply to: butch81385
Hi Tony, Randy,

I Just changed the "Layout Regen Options" on the "System" tab in the "Options" menu from "Cache model tab and all layouts" to Regen when switching layouts" and the problem appears to have gone away. I will keep an eye on it next week and let you know if it reappears.
There could be something wrong with that setting.

Thanks
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 9 of 13 (2,712 Views)

Re: Selection box not visible in some drawings

05-14-2010 09:01 PM in reply to: butch81385
The problem shouldn't occur regardless of that setting,
but that might offer a hint on what's happening.

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2011

http://www.acadxtabs.com

Email: string.Format("{0}@{1}.com", "tonyt", "caddzone");

wrote in message
news:6391991@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi Tony, Randy,

I Just changed the "Layout Regen Options" on the "System" tab in the "Options"
menu from "Cache model tab and all layouts" to Regen when switching layouts" and
the problem appears to have gone away. I will keep an eye on it next week and
let you know if it reappears.
There could be something wrong with that setting.

Thanks
New Member
adlSPAeng
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-27-2011
Message 10 of 13 (2,305 Views)

Re: Selection box not visible in some drawings

01-27-2011 02:47 PM in reply to: *Tony Tanzillo

I was having the same problem as described.  I found that under the options menu, the setting for the crosshair colour had changed to the same colour as the background.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.