AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
MatthewB80097
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
Message 1 of 6 (340 Views)

Selecting items not working properly

340 Views, 5 Replies
09-21-2012 03:49 AM

Recently I have started having this annoying problem where I select something and it shows it is selected by the grip but in reality it hasn't selected it as can be seen in the properties box.

 

Cancelling the selection with the ESC key doesn't work

regen doesnt' work

regenall doesn't work

audit doesn't find anything

 

Qsave does work but I would prefer not to use it due to sharing drawing xrefs with others means that they constantly have to keep reloading the xrefs

 

Have tried reinstalling autocad but that doesn't make it work.

 

Was wondering if it may be something to do with the graphics? - Currently have a NVIDIA Quadrow 3500 which is probably not the correct one.

 

Any suggestions?

*Expert Elite*
M_Hensley
Posts: 1,731
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 2 of 6 (336 Views)

Re: Selecting items not working properly

09-21-2012 04:11 AM in reply to: MatthewB80097

This behavior can be caused by running a Windows registry cleaner. They do not work properly when you have AutoCAD installed. To fix you go to control panel, add/remove programs and select the repair option for AutoCAD.

Valued Contributor
MatthewB80097
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
Message 3 of 6 (287 Views)

Re: Selecting items not working properly

09-25-2012 06:16 AM in reply to: M_Hensley

Our IT department ran a windows registry software on this problem and didn't find anything wrong?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,322
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 6 (279 Views)

Re: Selecting items not working properly

09-25-2012 06:26 AM in reply to: MatthewB80097

Read your 1st reply, the cause of it is the registry cleaner. Nothing you can run now that will fix the problem except repair or reinstall autocad.

Valued Contributor
MatthewB80097
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
Message 5 of 6 (272 Views)

Re: Selecting items not working properly

09-25-2012 06:33 AM in reply to: Patchy

Ive had autoCAD reinstalled too due to another issue and the problem still occurs? Been happening now on and off for the last couple of months.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,322
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 6 of 6 (267 Views)

Re: Selecting items not working properly

09-25-2012 06:46 AM in reply to: MatthewB80097

If it has been happening now on and off for the last couple of months, turn off antivirus to see if it will happen again.

 

Certain anti-virus do it as it said here:

http://en.allexperts.com/q/AutoCAD-1029/properties-tool-pallet-2007.htm

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.