Screening without color

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Autobadd
366 Views, 8 Replies

Screening without color

Hello all.  Another noobie question...

Is there any way to screen parts of a drawing other than using colors?  For instance Microstation can screen using fences. 

Basically I have one file of line work I am referencing into my sheet file.  This line work consists of around 40 streets for a construction project.  I need to be able to show where each street is according to surrounding city blocks.  The idea is to have the street being worked on as being bold and surrounding streets screened out.  Is there any way to do this aside from making each street its own file?

Sorry I am not very good at describing things...

And thanks in advance for any help or insights!

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
dgorsman
in reply to: Autobadd

Screened, as in plotting half-tone/quarter-tone?  That gets set up in CTB or STB plot styles, depending on how the drawing is configured.  Doing that on-screen without affecting printing is a little more involved as it can affect printing (with CTB more than STB).  For example, you can change the fade level for XREFs, and/or override the colors for the XREF-dependant layers in the host drawing.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.

Message 3 of 9
pendean

Is this for printing purposes, or monitor display purposes? Or both?

If every street was on it's own layer, you could control each own that way using what is available in LAYER command (linetypes, color, plot styles,lineweights etc.)
Message 4 of 9
Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi,

what about using the transparency option?

- alfred -

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at ... blog.hollaus.at ... CDay 2024