AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
paulgdowson
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2013
Message 1 of 6 (511 Views)

Rounded rectangle.

511 Views, 5 Replies
04-10-2013 06:39 AM

Hi there, this day one using autocad and my first post, I have to draw a rectangular slot with rounded ends in a baseplate. My question is how do I round the ends of the rectangle.

Thanks Paul.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,099
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 6 (507 Views)

Re: Rounded rectangle.

04-10-2013 06:52 AM in reply to: paulgdowson

Hi,

 

command _FILLET (>>>details<<<) option "_POLYLINE" (if you want to have all corners rounded with the same radius)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,267
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 3 of 6 (504 Views)

Re: Rounded rectangle.

04-10-2013 06:56 AM in reply to: paulgdowson

If you have 2 parallel lines, FILLET will make it slot.

Valued Mentor
bgingerich
Posts: 276
Registered: ‎08-29-2011
Message 4 of 6 (455 Views)

Re: Rounded rectangle.

04-10-2013 11:07 AM in reply to: Patchy

Patchy wrote:

If you have 2 parallel lines, FILLET will make it slot.


Duude!! Kudos! That's so sweet!  Here I've been drawing two circles and lines and trimming them.  You learn something new everyday!

─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Brandon Gingerich
*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,585
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 5 of 6 (423 Views)

Re: Rounded rectangle.

04-11-2013 05:13 PM in reply to: paulgdowson

In addition, you can draw a slot in one step using the rectangle command by using its own fillet option.  Set the fillet radius to half of the narrow dimension of the rectangle before drawing it.

New Member
paulgdowson
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2013
Message 6 of 6 (385 Views)

Re: Rounded rectangle.

04-13-2013 02:44 PM in reply to: paulgdowson
Hi there, thanks for your help,I have found the fillet option within the rectangle works a treat.
Many thanks
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.