AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
90 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 1 of 7

Rotate UCS by Z-axis

2093 Views, 6 Replies
06-27-2012 02:25 PM

The behavior in AutoCAD 2012 has changed with regard to the UCS command. I am trying to rotate my UCS along the Z-axis.

 

In 2011, I could enter UCS [enter] Z [enter] then select 2 points on *any* line using ENDpoint osnaps to have the ucs rotate along the Z-axis at the angle of the selected line.

 

Now in 2012 when I enter UCS [enter] Z [enter], a rubber-band line displays anchored from a pre-selected point which appears to be the drawing origin, usually 0,0,0.  I am only allowed to select a single point, which results in the UCS NOT rotatating to match the line as before.

 

I am aware that I could now use the OBject option, and then select one end of the line.  This is fine except it does not work if I select a line that is part of an attached xref.  With the old method in 2011, I could select 2 points of *any* line.

I am also aware that I could "type" in a value in both cases above but that option is too time-consuming and error-prone.

 

Are there any legacy options available for the UCS command to make it work as before?  Or is there a way to override the UCS-Z command option to not pre-select the first point at the drawing origin?

 

TIA,

 

Mark

*Pro
1,283 Posts
169 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Post 2 of 7

Re: Rotate UCS by Z-axis

06-27-2012 10:21 PM in reply to: spanqy

I also preferred the way UCS > Z worked in AutoCAD2011 vs the way it works in 2012-2013.  The change is no doubt due to the 2012 UCS icon being directly editable with grips.   I don't know if you can get the old behavior back, but here's a video showing several methods to get the same result.

 

http://www.screencast.com/t/XdAMebd6irJ

Valued Contributor
90 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 3 of 7

Re: Rotate UCS by Z-axis

06-29-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: nestly

That was a really well done little video.  I'm going to pass this info along. 

Thank you!

*Expert Elite*
1,659 Posts
214 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Post 4 of 7

Re: Rotate UCS by Z-axis

06-29-2012 10:24 AM in reply to: spanqy

After typing UCS, snap to the endpoint of your line, snap to the other endpoint.  Don't type Z in other words.

 

or

 

Use UCS, 3, pick the endpoints and an arbitrary Y point.

 

or

 

Grab the UCS and move it to the endpoint, grab the X axis grip and snap to the endpoint.

 

or....

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Valued Contributor
90 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 5 of 7

Re: Rotate UCS by Z-axis

07-02-2012 07:54 AM in reply to: GrantsPirate

I like your first suggestion the most.  I will pass these on to my user's.

 

Thanks!

New Member
3 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Post 6 of 7

Re: Rotate UCS by Z-axis

09-15-2012 09:44 AM in reply to: spanqy

The problem with this is if your points picked are not on the same plane in the x or y, your UCS will also rotate in on these axis and not just on the Z.  With the old command and selecting Z when rotating you did not have to worry about this.

 

Mentor
247 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-11-2008
Post 7 of 7

Re: Rotate UCS by Z-axis

09-19-2012 01:44 AM in reply to: cbodwin

when selecting the second point, use point filter to take only .XY of the point and for Z coordinate pick the first point again

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!