AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
OwenWhitehouse
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 1 of 5 (311 Views)

Ribbon tab label issue

311 Views, 4 Replies
10-12-2012 07:22 AM

This has been an issue with 2010, 2011 and now 2012. When using AutoCAD 2012, the ribbon labels occasionally change from the nice white text on a nearly-black background to gray with black text and change size (they become smaller). Minimizing and maximizing AutoCAD forces a screen redraw and that fixes them. It is more than a little annoying. If you hover over the tabs with the cursor, they kind of fix themselves, but are unable to correct their spacing, so it actually looks worse. I did some searching and found nothing. I have been on three different systems, and it has done this on all of them...the common denominator has always been Nvidia Quadro cards and Windows 7x64.

 

Has anyone else seen this, and if so, have you been able to fix it?

 

Currently running Dell Precision T5600, Quadro 5000 (297.03 driver), Windows 7x64, 16GB RAM.

*Expert Elite*
leothebuilder
Posts: 481
Registered: ‎07-05-2010
Message 2 of 5 (306 Views)

Re: Ribbon tab label issue

10-12-2012 08:01 AM in reply to: OwenWhitehouse

I have a similar issue with 2012.

The ribbon tab labels sometimes just disappear.

If I roll the mouse over the tabs, the labels appear again.

 

Maybe has something to do with display card or driver?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,933
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 5 (294 Views)

Re: Ribbon tab label issue

10-12-2012 01:56 PM in reply to: OwenWhitehouse

Never seen it: same PCs in our office for 2011, 2012 and 2013 so far. No Quadro Vid Cards though, but all Win7 64bit.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
gtg439y
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-01-2014
Message 4 of 5 (84 Views)

Re: Ribbon tab label issue

05-01-2014 01:30 PM in reply to: OwenWhitehouse

I have the same issue, and I am running Windows 7x64 with an Nvidia Quardro card.

To me, it looks more like the old menu bar is showing through from behind the ribbon tabs.  Each tab will correct itself when it is moused-over.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,933
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 5 (75 Views)

Re: Ribbon tab label issue

05-01-2014 02:48 PM in reply to: gtg439y
Yes, you're describing a video card driver issue: certified drivers for your versions of AutoCAD and/or changing AutoCAD's hardware acceleration settings may help.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.