Did you mean: 

Restore Deleted Viewport Tabs

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
2811 Views, 7 Replies

Restore Deleted Viewport Tabs

I've tried searching and can't find an anwer to my problem.  Perhaps this is because I'm new to this program and don't know how to properly describe the issue I've created.

Here's the background:

Our company keeps a map of our area and customers in AutoCAD (2012).  Within the model drawing (please forgive me if I use the wrong terms, I really am new and trying to learn this as I go) there were approximately 30 individual maps in different tabs.  The company wanted to have the maps on iPads but the file sizes were too large.

I created a copy of the file in a new folder, renamed it and deleted the smaller individual maps, keeping only the model.

This seems to have univerally deleted the tabs across all versions of the maps, including copies of old versions in other folders.

Under Options>Display "Display layout and model tabs" IS checked.

Did I make a horrible mistake in removing these tabs?  Is there any hope of restoring them?

Any help anybody can offer me will be greatly appreciated.  Thanks so much.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
pendean
in reply to: Anonymous

Once you delete a tab there is no way to recover it: since you made a copy of the file, go back to the original.
Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: pendean

I'm sorry I didn't make this part more clear.  Somehow when I deleted the tabs from the copy, they were deleted universally from all of the files.  Including copies of the maps from previous years that were all in separate folders. 

If there is no way to restore them, is there a setting I can change so that this kind of thing doesn't happen again?

Message 4 of 8
jggerth