AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
looking4phil
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-22-2007
Message 1 of 6 (1,602 Views)

Reset default value on attributes within a block

1602 Views, 5 Replies
01-04-2012 07:29 AM

I have a titleblock with various attributes for title,dwg number, date, all that sort of thing. The drawing contains 43 layouts each with the titleblock in them and I want to show the default value of the attribute 'date', for example. Is there an easy way to do this. I would normally use find/replace if there was already text in the attribute concerened but there is currently no value. Hope this make sense to someone and can help!! Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 6 (1,590 Views)

Re: Reset default value on attributes within a block

01-04-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: looking4phil

Hi,

 

three ideas:

  • create a default value for the attribute like "xxxDATExxx" so you can do something like replace (at least one time)
  • you can use fields within attribtutes, e.g. to show automatically the last plot-date or save-data (details >>>here<<<)
  • you don't define an attribute within the block definition, you use a text-object. So you can select one titleblock ==> blockedit ==> change the text to the date you want ==> close&save the blockdef ==> all insertions of this block will be updated. But be careful: if you have some software that works with informations coming from the titleblock they will not find a "date-attribute" any more!

 

HTH, - alfred -

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Member
tawadev
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-12-2011
Message 3 of 6 (1,590 Views)

Re: Reset default value on attributes within a block

01-04-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: looking4phil

We can use sheetset for updating attribute in block.

Active Contributor
looking4phil
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-22-2007
Message 4 of 6 (1,563 Views)

Re: Reset default value on attributes within a block

01-05-2012 01:06 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Am liking option 3 there, the most simple I guess. Never thought of that one. Thanks for your help.

Active Contributor
looking4phil
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-22-2007
Message 5 of 6 (1,561 Views)

Re: Reset default value on attributes within a block

01-05-2012 01:29 AM in reply to: tawadev

Ah sheetsets, I am thinking I should probably start using this function. Will look into it. Cheers.

*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,811
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 6 of 6 (1,548 Views)

Re: Reset default value on attributes within a block

01-06-2012 11:58 AM in reply to: looking4phil

What about using the GATTE command?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.