Replace part of Mtext with different font

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
AirportT1
956 Views, 8 Replies

Replace part of Mtext with different font

Dear CAD experts,

I'm relatively new to AutoCAD, and am still in a constant state of wonder at all the possibilities. However, for a current assigment my employer has a question I, uptill now, have been unable to answer, and I'm hoping someone here might know.

I export a number of annotations from a GIS environment to a DWG. There I change them from single- to multiline texts with the custom lisp TXT2MTXT. So far, so good. However, in the GIS data the text is formatted in two different fonts; Arial for readable text and Windings for a symbol or two. In the DWG, all text is representated with one font, giving us characters such as ä and ã where we would expect symbols. Individually selecting the text parts and formatting them to Windings again is not difficult, but very time consuming. So, what I'm looking for is a combination between the Find and Replace function, together with formatting to a different font.

Anybody got a suggestion? A tip, a trick, a lisp, anything! Thanks!

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
doni49
in reply to: AirportT1

can you post a dwg file that contains two pieces of text:

One showing what you're getting and the other showing what you want. 

I *think* it should be fairly simple to do via autolisp.  But I need to know what to search for and what to replace it with.

Don Ireland
Engineering Design Technician

If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.

Please do not send a PM asking for assistance. That's what the forums are for. This allows everyone to benefit from the question asked and the answers given.

Message 3 of 9
doni49

This should do what you need.  Since there are multiple things that you need to convert to wingdings, you'll have to run the command multiple times.