AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
15 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-14-2011
Post 1 of 13

repath xrefs after moving servers

5831 Views, 12 Replies
01-09-2012 11:56 AM

What is the best way (quickest) to repath Xrefs after changing servers? Other ways than using the manager?

Nathan M. Gardner
Drafter/Designer

http://www.etsy.com/shop/NathanMGardner?ref=pr_shop_more
https://www.nutmegdesigns.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nathan-M-Gardner-Artisan/180495332009330
Distinguished Contributor
264 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-31-2008
Post 2 of 13

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-09-2012 12:04 PM in reply to: nmgardner

i'm assuming you're referring to the reference manager.  not sure there is a better way (this is why i try to get all my users to keep referenced files in the same dir as their host file.  this is also like herding cats)

 

anyway - here's a plea to autodesk to beef up the functionality of the reference manager.  it's somewhat useful, but i'd love to be able to replace entire files (along with more control over the ref type) and the file names from within the manager.

 

good luck.

______________________________
~ "if this were /. this would be funny"
Distinguished Contributor
128 Posts
11 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Post 3 of 13

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-09-2012 12:41 PM in reply to: nmgardner

Using the stand alone program "Reference Manager" is the easiest and best way I know of to repath the xrefs.  Please note that this is not the same reference manager inside of autocad, this is a standalone program that should have been installed alongside autocad.  It will allow you to repath multiple files (xrefs, images, fonts, etc) in multiple drawings and save your changes back.

 

Check out http://autodesk.blogs.com/between_the_lines/2009/06/autocad-reference-manager-refman.html

 

Hope that helps.  Holler back if it doesn't =)

 

John

Mentor
325 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Post 4 of 13

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-09-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: nmgardner

the fastest is to copy your xref-ed file in the same folder your drawings are.

Distinguished Contributor
264 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-31-2008
Post 5 of 13

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-09-2012 03:16 PM in reply to: jwjones1

ahh, good clarification JW.  In case you're not aware, you can find the stand alone utility "Reference Manager" in Start > All Programs > Autodesk > [your ACAD version].  this is what i was referring to in my diatribe above.

 

this, as opposed to the XREF command in AutoCAD which brings up the "External References" dialog (or more irritatingly, the palette :smileyhappy:

 

 

______________________________
~ "if this were /. this would be funny"
Contributor
15 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-14-2011
Post 6 of 13

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-10-2012 04:15 AM in reply to: ssx_Autodesk

ohhhh....I did not realize there was a standalone manager. I will install it thanks guys

 

Nathan M. Gardner
Drafter/Designer

http://www.etsy.com/shop/NathanMGardner?ref=pr_shop_more
https://www.nutmegdesigns.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nathan-M-Gardner-Artisan/180495332009330
Distinguished Contributor
128 Posts
11 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Post 7 of 13

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-10-2012 05:38 AM in reply to: ssx_Autodesk

Yeah, I once suggested to an older CADD gentleman to use the reference manager to repath all his XREFs for a job.  He was upset at me for about a week until someone else explained that I didn't mean the reference palette but the actual reference manager stand alone program.  Oops! :smileyvery-happy:

 

 

*Expert Elite*
2,273 Posts
312 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Post 8 of 13

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-10-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: nmgardner

as you repath, think about ensur43eing that all ther reference files are set with Relative pathings -- ensures that you'll never have to think about it again

Distinguished Mentor
525 Posts
35 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Post 9 of 13

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-10-2012 03:35 PM in reply to: JGerth

Note, 

 

If you change the directory in the middle of the path for a drawing, Reference Manager has a shortcomming that you can't find/replace to update such a change :smileysad: 

 

I'm just mentioning it to follow up / put in $.02 regarding the earlier posting requesting a beefing up of the capability.

 

I have a map/drawing with some 1900 referenced image tiles and talk about a PIA!

 

Cheers Alll

 

TdH


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Distinguished Contributor
264 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-31-2008
Post 10 of 13

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-10-2012 05:04 PM in reply to: thepworth

you could potentially overcome this by using the old DOS .. function to "go up one level" in the dir tree.  

 

drag your files into Refernce Manager, then hit your Edit Path button, and just keep adding ..\..\..\ until you get high enough for it to find your file name.  (if you changed the file name, you're kinda screwed, but there's a potential fix for that too)  so i think the syntax is that you don't need to start or end the string with a backslash, just use the backslash between pairs of dots.

 

and TdH, if you need to bulk rename files and/or folder, this guys utility can't be beat:

 

http://www.bulkrenameutility.co.uk/Download.php

 

 

______________________________
~ "if this were /. this would be funny"
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!