AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
nmgardner
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-14-2011
Message 1 of 13 (4,806 Views)

repath xrefs after moving servers

4806 Views, 12 Replies
01-09-2012 11:56 AM

What is the best way (quickest) to repath Xrefs after changing servers? Other ways than using the manager?

Nathan M. Gardner
Drafter/Designer

http://www.etsy.com/shop/NathanMGardner?ref=pr_shop_more
https://www.nutmegdesigns.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nathan-M-Gardner-Artisan/180495332009330
Distinguished Contributor
ssx_Autodesk
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎03-31-2008
Message 2 of 13 (4,805 Views)

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-09-2012 12:04 PM in reply to: nmgardner

i'm assuming you're referring to the reference manager.  not sure there is a better way (this is why i try to get all my users to keep referenced files in the same dir as their host file.  this is also like herding cats)

 

anyway - here's a plea to autodesk to beef up the functionality of the reference manager.  it's somewhat useful, but i'd love to be able to replace entire files (along with more control over the ref type) and the file names from within the manager.

 

good luck.

______________________________
~ "if this were /. this would be funny"
Distinguished Contributor
jwjones1
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 3 of 13 (4,794 Views)

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-09-2012 12:41 PM in reply to: nmgardner

Using the stand alone program "Reference Manager" is the easiest and best way I know of to repath the xrefs.  Please note that this is not the same reference manager inside of autocad, this is a standalone program that should have been installed alongside autocad.  It will allow you to repath multiple files (xrefs, images, fonts, etc) in multiple drawings and save your changes back.

 

Check out http://autodesk.blogs.com/between_the_lines/2009/06/autocad-reference-manager-refman.html

 

Hope that helps.  Holler back if it doesn't =)

 

John

Mentor
vakhtang
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 4 of 13 (4,787 Views)

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-09-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: nmgardner

the fastest is to copy your xref-ed file in the same folder your drawings are.

Distinguished Contributor
ssx_Autodesk
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎03-31-2008
Message 5 of 13 (4,781 Views)

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-09-2012 03:16 PM in reply to: jwjones1

ahh, good clarification JW.  In case you're not aware, you can find the stand alone utility "Reference Manager" in Start > All Programs > Autodesk > [your ACAD version].  this is what i was referring to in my diatribe above.

 

this, as opposed to the XREF command in AutoCAD which brings up the "External References" dialog (or more irritatingly, the palette :smileyhappy:

 

 

______________________________
~ "if this were /. this would be funny"
Contributor
nmgardner
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-14-2011
Message 6 of 13 (4,768 Views)

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-10-2012 04:15 AM in reply to: ssx_Autodesk

ohhhh....I did not realize there was a standalone manager. I will install it thanks guys

 

Nathan M. Gardner
Drafter/Designer

http://www.etsy.com/shop/NathanMGardner?ref=pr_shop_more
https://www.nutmegdesigns.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nathan-M-Gardner-Artisan/180495332009330
Distinguished Contributor
jwjones1
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 7 of 13 (4,761 Views)

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-10-2012 05:38 AM in reply to: ssx_Autodesk

Yeah, I once suggested to an older CADD gentleman to use the reference manager to repath all his XREFs for a job.  He was upset at me for about a week until someone else explained that I didn't mean the reference palette but the actual reference manager stand alone program.  Oops! :smileyvery-happy:

 

 

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,051
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 8 of 13 (4,752 Views)

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-10-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: nmgardner

as you repath, think about ensur43eing that all ther reference files are set with Relative pathings -- ensures that you'll never have to think about it again

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 9 of 13 (4,740 Views)

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-10-2012 03:35 PM in reply to: JGerth

Note, 

 

If you change the directory in the middle of the path for a drawing, Reference Manager has a shortcomming that you can't find/replace to update such a change :smileysad: 

 

I'm just mentioning it to follow up / put in $.02 regarding the earlier posting requesting a beefing up of the capability.

 

I have a map/drawing with some 1900 referenced image tiles and talk about a PIA!

 

Cheers Alll

 

TdH


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Distinguished Contributor
ssx_Autodesk
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎03-31-2008
Message 10 of 13 (4,737 Views)

Re: repath xrefs after moving servers

01-10-2012 05:04 PM in reply to: thepworth

you could potentially overcome this by using the old DOS .. function to "go up one level" in the dir tree.  

 

drag your files into Refernce Manager, then hit your Edit Path button, and just keep adding ..\..\..\ until you get high enough for it to find your file name.  (if you changed the file name, you're kinda screwed, but there's a potential fix for that too)  so i think the syntax is that you don't need to start or end the string with a backslash, just use the backslash between pairs of dots.

 

and TdH, if you need to bulk rename files and/or folder, this guys utility can't be beat:

 

http://www.bulkrenameutility.co.uk/Download.php

 

 

______________________________
~ "if this were /. this would be funny"
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.