AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
robbsub
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 1 of 9 (2,492 Views)

Repair / Reinstall w/o a Disk

2492 Views, 8 Replies
10-14-2010 04:44 PM

I need to try a Reinstall/Repair of A2011, via the controll panel.  Its asking for the Disk to be inserted, so it can run it.  ?!?!?... I dont have the disks, I have the Download like eveyone else.  It dosent let me path to my install files (??). I dont want to have burn a disk and have it on hand..lame.  I have too many users if I need to do this again.

 

Any suggestions, or an I stuck making a 2 CD's... one for 32 & 64bit.  Or do I have to spend more time with a full uninstall and reinstall?

Valued Mentor
tzzzzoddhepworth4253
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
Message 2 of 9 (2,483 Views)

Re: Repair / Reinstall w/o a Disk

10-14-2010 07:08 PM in reply to: robbsub

check your "C:" drive for a folder "Autodesk"  the files here are an image of the DVD install, and might work for you.

 

However, it seems that this folder isn't always created - depends on how you ran "install"

 

Also, if you have this directory and you want to free up disk space, feel free to delete, as this isn't the area your program runs from, unless you directed the installation here, versus "C:\program files\autodesk\..."

 

Hope this helps.

 

TdH

Contributor
robbsub
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 3 of 9 (2,440 Views)

Re: Repair / Reinstall w/o a Disk

10-15-2010 09:04 AM in reply to: tzzzzoddhepworth4253

I took your advice and put the original install file package back into "C:\Autodesk\...".  I went back through the Reinstall/Repair process and it still asked me to insert a disk.  I don't know if it makes a difference, but I'm running Win7 x64.

 

At this point I have to uninstall and reinstall..I just need to get this fixed.  If Autodesk is promoting the Download and Install Process (which I like), not to accommodate the Repair/Reinstall process with a "Browse for Files" option seems like big oversight.  After all, they did it for Update 1.

 

Is someone does have a solution, I'd still like to hear it.  Thanks.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 4 of 9 (2,419 Views)

Re: Repair / Reinstall w/o a Disk

10-15-2010 12:58 PM in reply to: robbsub

I've never installed AutoCAD from a download, but I'd be surprised if the proper method for re-installing/repairing isn't to simply run "Setup" again, just like the first time you installed it.

Valued Mentor
tzzzzoddhepworth4253
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
Message 5 of 9 (2,416 Views)

Re: Repair / Reinstall w/o a Disk

10-15-2010 01:03 PM in reply to: nestly

Nestly -

 

You are correct.  The "C:\Autodesk\.." folder is where the Setup.exe resides to reinstall for the extracted download files.

 

T

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,728
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 9 (2,408 Views)

Re: Repair / Reinstall w/o a Disk

10-15-2010 01:49 PM in reply to: robbsub

Just rerun the installer (aka "download like everyone else"), it will ask if you are wanting to repair, reinstall or uninstall: pick one.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
robbsub
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 7 of 9 (2,389 Views)

Re: Repair / Reinstall w/o a Disk

10-15-2010 04:10 PM in reply to: pendean

Yea... I tried to re-run the intallation from my downloaded package, but there was no option to Repair/Reinstall.  So I selected "Install" to try that, and the next screen where you select what to install was all grayed out.  It recognized that I already had A2011 installed.  Dead end.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 8 of 9 (2,385 Views)

Re: Repair / Reinstall w/o a Disk

10-15-2010 05:07 PM in reply to: robbsub

I don' t know, if the AutoCAD2011 setup program detected AutoCAD2011 was already installed, you should have seen this:

1244i630110E7FF6ECF43

 

If you should decide you need to start over:

 

How to remove all Autodesk software products from a system to ensure a clean install

Contributor
robbsub
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 9 of 9 (2,245 Views)

Re: Repair / Reinstall w/o a Disk

10-27-2010 08:59 AM in reply to: nestly

So bottom line is what I suspected from the beginning.  If your willing to leave 2.5 GB of install files hanging out on your harddrive you can repair/reinstall (or run Updates) eaily.  I guess they assume we all have 250gb harddrives and we need help filling them up.

 

And the bottom-bottom line is that if you delete it to clear space, you'll need to create an install "sneaker-net" disk, or copy back all the install files to the original install location... if you can remember where that is... C:\, D:\, URL...

 

I dont know why they simply cant offer a "Browse" function rather then forcing the disk.  Like when Windows asks for the i386 folder.

 

Anyway, thank you all for the input.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.