AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
7 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2009
Post 1 of 21
Accepted Solution

Random commands when fast mouse clicking

1415 Views, 20 Replies
04-11-2011 09:30 AM

We've upgraded to 2012 and have noticed a problem when fast clicking on the mouse when using commands.

 

For example when using the erase command I would usually type E and then quickly right click and left click. However in 2012 it brings up random command instead of erase i.e. sheetset, publish, ucs etc

 

Bringing up the text window afterwards it shows

 

Command: e
ERASE
Select objects: Specify opposite corner: *Cancel*
0 found
Select objects: *Cancel*

Command: _PointCloudIndex

 

The right click and left click are only pressed once.

This happens on all commands typed on the command line not just erase 

 

Has anyone else had this problem?

 

Thanks

This behavior has been reported when the 'Use shortcut menus in drawing area' checkbox is unchecked.  To avoid the behavior, make sure that checkbox is checked.  If you wish to use the right-click primarily as ENTER/last command, click the 'Right-click customization' button, check the box for 'Time-sensitive right-click', and set the time to a higher number (2000, for example).  With that time setting, a shortcut menu would only come up after holding the right-click for 2 seconds.

Active Member
7 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2009
Post 2 of 21

Re: Random commands when fast mouse clicking

04-12-2011 08:37 AM in reply to: dkenny

Just realised its not fast clicking that does it.

 

It happens when you:

- choose a modify command i.e erase

- start drawing a window to select objects (not a crosshair)

- and then right clicking before finishing the window

 

This will then run a random command instead of erase - happens on all 3 versions of 2012 we have in the office

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
1,658 Posts
213 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Post 3 of 21

Re: Random commands when fast mouse clicking

04-12-2011 09:40 AM in reply to: dkenny

I have tried to replicate here, I get a "invalid selection" error message when I hit the right mouse button after starting the window.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
*Expert Elite*
24,190 Posts
1,589 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 4 of 21

Re: Random commands when fast mouse clicking

04-12-2011 01:29 PM in reply to: dkenny

Is the "random" command by chance the last command you used?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-24-2009
Post 5 of 21

Re: Random commands when fast mouse clicking

04-13-2011 09:20 AM in reply to: pendean

I am having the same issues. This is rediculous. It slows me down greatly and pisses me off. How do we send this info to autocad so they can fix this?

*Expert Elite*
2,268 Posts
312 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Post 6 of 21

Re: Random commands when fast mouse clicking

04-13-2011 10:01 AM in reply to: cmoore

there's a 'contact us' link on the autodesk home page....

 

if you're on subscription you can file a support issue there, http://pointa.autodesk.com

Distinguished Mentor
562 Posts
10 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
Post 7 of 21

Re: Random commands when fast mouse clicking

04-13-2011 04:21 PM in reply to: cmoore

How do we send this info to autocad so they can fix this?

 

How do you normally handle tech support issues?  Does your reseller provide support?

Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-24-2009
Post 8 of 21

Re: Random commands when fast mouse clicking

04-14-2011 06:15 AM in reply to: jaich

Normally I don't have issues with any of the AutoCAD products. They usually work the way they should. I got in contact with both my reseller and with tech support thru my online subscription center. So my resller is working on it thru their own support and Autodesk is fully aware of the issue. I havn't heard anything yet but when they respond i will update this thread.

Active Member
7 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2009
Post 9 of 21

Re: Random commands when fast mouse clicking

04-18-2011 02:14 AM in reply to: dkenny

No - its not the last command used its a random command

 

Its very frustrating and I've gone back to 2011 - will also send to tech support

 

Member
5 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-24-2009
Post 10 of 21

Re: Random commands when fast mouse clicking

04-19-2011 11:05 AM in reply to: dkenny

Everyone, I got Autodesk to recreate the issue after speaking with tech support. They have admitted it is a small bug in autocad 2012. They told me they sent the issue in to be fixed and will provide a update as soon as they resolve the issue.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post