AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
grimline
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎11-16-2003
Message 1 of 19 (578 Views)
Accepted Solution

"Help" No Really, Where's the help?

578 Views, 18 Replies
08-15-2011 03:09 PM

Is there a way to switch the"HELP" back to classic? The new help sucks!!

 

Thank you,

Autodesk AutoCAD Map 3D 2015
Windows 7 Professional
Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4430 CPU @ 3.00 GHz
8.00 GB RAM

grimline -

 

I have been using AutoCAD since late 1988, I have been able to upgrade with each release.  I find it much easier to roll with the punches, as it were, and just learn what is new, what has changed, what has been removed.  It takes about a week to adjust and then it is as if I have used it that way forever.

 

As I said, I typed in the search in exchange and the first choice was exactly what you needed.  How is that broken?

 

The upside to help being on line is the help file is easily updated with no effort on our part.  And I think it will continue to get better as a result.

Valued Contributor
toolbox2
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎10-24-2001
Message 2 of 19 (546 Views)

Re: "Help" No Really, Where's the help?

08-16-2011 04:42 AM in reply to: grimline

"Help" has turned into a useless ton of crap; difficult to home in on answers; and, if you use MS Internet Explorer, slow. I've had to resort to either using the chm files from my previous install or PDF files downloaded from AutoDesk.

 

Google gets me answers faster than AutoDesk's woeful attempt at documenting their own product.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 3 of 19 (507 Views)

Re: "Help" No Really, Where's the help?

08-19-2011 08:14 AM in reply to: grimline

Hi Grimline,

 

Go to Options > System tab > under Autodesk Exchange disable "Access online content (including Help) when available", then choose "Default System Browser".

 

Hope this helps,

Luciane

 

Luciane Conceicao
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

 

Please click the button "Accept as Solution" if this suggestion resolves your issue.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 4 of 19 (505 Views)

Re: "Help" No Really, Where's the help?

08-19-2011 08:15 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Note, this is for vanilla AutoCAD. I don't have Map to check but should be similar.

Luciane

Mentor
grimline
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎11-16-2003
Message 5 of 19 (471 Views)

Re: "Help" No Really, Where's the help?

08-21-2011 07:47 PM in reply to: luconceicao

Sorry Nope, Didn't work. I even rebooted.

 

Thanks

Autodesk AutoCAD Map 3D 2015
Windows 7 Professional
Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4430 CPU @ 3.00 GHz
8.00 GB RAM
Member
bachka
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 6 of 19 (457 Views)

Re: "Help" No Really, Where's the help?

08-22-2011 01:54 AM in reply to: grimline

Same here. 

 

I try hard to keep up with autodesk new stuff, but the new help system does not help at all. It is slow and gives more questions than answers.

 

I search for rarely used acad commands in google rather than in Your help system.

 

 

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 7 of 19 (441 Views)

Re: "Help" No Really, Where's the help?

08-22-2011 06:43 AM in reply to: grimline

Hi,

Were the options the same as in AutoCAD?

Did the settings get saved after you rebooted?

What happens after you changed the settings? Exchange still displays?

 

Cheers,

Luciane

Valued Contributor
toolbox2
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎10-24-2001
Message 8 of 19 (436 Views)

Re: "Help" No Really, Where's the help?

08-22-2011 07:38 AM in reply to: luconceicao

I assumed by "classic", grimline means the old style chm help files.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 9 of 19 (431 Views)

Re: "Help" No Really, Where's the help?

08-22-2011 07:46 AM in reply to: toolbox2

Oh, Ok.

I think that CHM files are gone and now there is a local htm or html file that has the Help information.

This htm/l file can be updated if you set to online in options.

But the local file works very similar to the way that CHM files do.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

Member
bachka
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 10 of 19 (420 Views)

Re: "Help" No Really, Where's the help?

08-22-2011 10:23 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Well, they do not. 

My questions was "rotating in layouts" and again, MVSETUP command was reminded me in a  site, found by the almighty google:

 



How to rotate a view in paperspace (layout)?
A - answerUse the MVSETUP command and its options "Align viewports", "Rotate view".

As an alternative, you can use the DVIEW command with the "Twist" option. Or you can rotate an UCS about the Z axis (UCS) and - if you don't have the UCSFOLLOW variable set to 1 - set the PLAN view (top view).

You can also use the Express Tool ALIGNSPACE.

Since version 2010 you can use the VPROTATEASSOC variable to control the associative rotation of the contents of the viewport.

 

And ACAD's help (C3D2012), after a much longer period of time sudgested an impressive list, which begins:

 

 

 

And so on. 

This is the problem: I do not have Acad's help at hand anymore.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.