AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
jasonvassiliou2471
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-18-2011
Message 1 of 5 (678 Views)
Accepted Solution

Profile added but when I open a new/other drawing it changes. what can I do ?

678 Views, 4 Replies
11-07-2012 05:27 PM

We currenlty have our profile loaded but when I open another drawing it changes the layout of the tools in my profile. I then have to reload the profile and all the tools come back to what we want. Why is this happening everytime I open a new/other drawing ? thanks

 

my profiles are loaded via options see jpg attachment.

Yes My profile had to be loaded up every time I opened a new drawing but good news

 

Got the solution

 

@ bottom right hand corner of screen is 2D Drafting & Annotation (click)

Click down on Workspace Switching

Workspace setting window will pop up

 

I have then tagged "Automatically save workspace changes'

then hit OK

 

this has saved my profile for all drawings.

 

Thanks to all for viewing/comments.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,216
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (649 Views)

Re: Profile added but when I open a new/other drawing it changes. what can I do

11-07-2012 11:24 PM in reply to: jasonvassiliou2471

Hi,

 

the layout of your tools is not saved in the profile, they are saved in the workspace. So you can use the /w parameter in your Map3D-startup icon to specify what workspace should be made current when you start Map3D.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Product Support
Soyoung.H
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎12-22-2010
Message 3 of 5 (572 Views)

Re: Profile added but when I open a new/other drawing it changes. what can I do

11-12-2012 11:17 PM in reply to: jasonvassiliou2471

I am not sure what do you mean "the layout of the tools".

If you create a profile, it will save in C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2010\R18.0\enu\Support\Profiles

From your words you can reload it, I think the profile(.aws or if you import it will be .arg) is there.

 

So the problem is when you open a different drawing, you need to import the profile everytime?

 

 



Soyoung.H
Contributor
jasonvassiliou2471
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-18-2011
Message 4 of 5 (555 Views)

Re: Profile added but when I open a new/other drawing it changes. What can I do

11-13-2012 02:50 PM in reply to: Soyoung.H

Yes My profile had to be loaded up every time I opened a new drawing but good news

 

Got the solution

 

@ bottom right hand corner of screen is 2D Drafting & Annotation (click)

Click down on Workspace Switching

Workspace setting window will pop up

 

I have then tagged "Automatically save workspace changes'

then hit OK

 

this has saved my profile for all drawings.

 

Thanks to all for viewing/comments.

Product Support
Soyoung.H
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎12-22-2010
Message 5 of 5 (546 Views)

Re: Profile added but when I open a new/other drawing it changes. What can I do

11-13-2012 04:22 PM in reply to: jasonvassiliou2471

Good news~

You found the solution by yourself ^-^



Soyoung.H
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.