AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
odilemonod
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-08-2012
Message 1 of 4 (181 Views)
Accepted Solution

Problem with units

181 Views, 3 Replies
09-08-2012 12:19 PM

Hello. I'm having some major issue with autocad units. I use autocad for fashion flats, I accidentally made a drawing using mm as a unit instead of cms. I only noticed when I was working on the layout and the 1:1 scale won't fit my paper size of choice. So I changed the units from mm to cm (a -> drawing utilities -> units) but I have the same problem when it comes to the layout, the flats are just too small  I tried using a 10:1 scale but somehow they end up being TOO big, so I'm really confused.

Thoughts?

Hi,

 

just to change the units-setting results in wrong lengths, because a line that was 1000mm long, after changing the UNITS from mm to cm, the line will then be 1000cm long (I think that is not what you liked). So you also have to scale your model-space content by 0.1.

 

- alfred -

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,595
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 4 (180 Views)

Re: Problem with units

09-08-2012 12:44 PM in reply to: odilemonod

Hi,

 

just to change the units-setting results in wrong lengths, because a line that was 1000mm long, after changing the UNITS from mm to cm, the line will then be 1000cm long (I think that is not what you liked). So you also have to scale your model-space content by 0.1.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
SugarCAD
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Message 3 of 4 (143 Views)

Re: Problem with units

09-11-2012 07:20 AM in reply to: odilemonod

Use -DWGUNITS (notice the - in front) to set the drawing from mm to cm, it will provide the option to scale current objects.

New Member
odilemonod
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-08-2012
Message 4 of 4 (130 Views)

Re: Problem with units

09-12-2012 04:05 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
THANK YOU. Everything's fine now!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.