AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
GeoCal
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2011
Message 1 of 12 (2,058 Views)

Problem Viewing SID file in AutoCAD 2010 Please Help

2058 Views, 11 Replies
08-10-2011 10:26 AM

We have a project that we are working on that requires us to use a supplied SID file (aerial photo of a region) and we are unable to see the SID file outline on Cad. This is the first time our company is using a SID file for a project so very new to this format. We have Raster Design as well as the proper Object Enabler installed. When we open the file in CAD all that we can see is the outline of where the image should be. We can select the boarder box that allows us to use all of the typical image commands but still no image. We also have Lizard Tech Viewer to see if we can see the file and also in the viewer we cannot see the file. We have another SID file to check our settings on both the viewer and CAD and the file works fine in both. Also when the file was picked up from the client it worked on the client's drafting computer and I could see the whole SID file working. 

What can we do so that we will be able to see the SID file on our CAD to complete our project?  

 

Here is some background on the files and the system that has raster design.

 Our test SID file is 768,000KB

Our project SID file is 4.5 Gb (very Large)

Computer is a Dell with 3056 MB RAM w/ 32bit OS and running XP with AutoCad 2010 and Raster Design 2010



Very sorry for being long winded

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,276
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 12 (2,054 Views)

Re: Problem Viewing SID file in AutoCAD 2010 Please Help

08-10-2011 10:57 AM in reply to: GeoCal

Confusing here :

 

we are unable to see the SID file outline on Cad 

and later

we can see is the outline of where the image should be

 

No image frame or no image?

 

 

Member
GeoCal
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2011
Message 3 of 12 (2,041 Views)

Re: Problem Viewing SID file in AutoCAD 2010 Please Help

08-10-2011 11:13 AM in reply to: Patchy

Sorry we are only able to see the image frame and no image.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,276
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 12 (2,034 Views)

Re: Problem Viewing SID file in AutoCAD 2010 Please Help

08-10-2011 11:19 AM in reply to: GeoCal

Check this option in properties palette

If it doesn't show, ask for a replacement image.

Member
GeoCal
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-10-2011
Message 5 of 12 (2,010 Views)

Re: Problem Viewing SID file in AutoCAD 2010 Please Help

08-10-2011 12:51 PM in reply to: Patchy

Yeah I tried that and still do not see anything. I took a screen shot.

Member
dalsoglio123
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
Message 6 of 12 (636 Views)

Re: Problem Viewing SID file in AutoCAD 2011 Please Help

08-02-2013 01:36 PM in reply to: GeoCal

Why I downloaded the Object Enabler from your site with no luck. This is very frustrating. bentley Systems seems to have no problem with SID files.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,933
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 12 (626 Views)

Re: Problem Viewing SID file in AutoCAD 2010 Please Help

08-03-2013 07:17 AM in reply to: GeoCal
Which object enabler? AutoCAD version?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,933
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 12 (625 Views)

Re: Problem Viewing SID file in AutoCAD 2010 Please Help

08-03-2013 07:19 AM in reply to: GeoCal
GeoCal, you se to have an image inside your boundary.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
dalsoglio123
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-02-2013
Message 9 of 12 (605 Views)

Re: Problem Viewing SID file in AutoCAD 2010 Please Help

08-03-2013 02:57 PM in reply to: GeoCal

I am using AutoCAD 2011 and the appropriate 64bit enabler. No SID is visible in the file.

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,201
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 10 of 12 (580 Views)

Re: Problem Viewing SID file in AutoCAD 2010 Please Help

08-05-2013 08:03 AM in reply to: dalsoglio123

Which Object enabler did you install?  there are a number of different ones.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.