AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
bodhran
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
Message 1 of 6 (484 Views)

Polyline with zero area

484 Views, 5 Replies
04-03-2011 06:51 PM

 

Hi guys,

 

Just had an issue with a polyline that didn't have an area, it's actual area, when checked in AutoCAD 2008 is 21531.0625 units but in AtuoCAD 2011 the properties tool pallette, quick properties & LISt all returned an area of 0.

 

We had to wblock the plolyine out, explode it, recreate it and insert it to get it work return an area when selected.

 

i've attached the pline is question.

 

Just wonder if anyone else has had similar issues.

 

Regards,

 

B

 

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 2 of 6 (456 Views)

Re: Polyline with zero area

04-04-2011 12:44 AM in reply to: bodhran

I don't know why, but the area displayes when it's moved closer to the origin.

Valued Contributor
bodhran
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
Message 3 of 6 (418 Views)

Re: Polyline with zero area

04-04-2011 04:03 PM in reply to: nestly

Hmmm, that's weird, unfortunately we have ot keep them where they are, wonder id it somehow related to he position and the number of vertices in the polylines??

 

 

Active Member
vryarbe
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
Message 4 of 6 (349 Views)

Re: Polyline with zero area

08-03-2011 03:37 PM in reply to: bodhran

I just discovered a similar problem with some very simple geometry. I submitted the problem to Autodesk and they stated that they will not fix the problem in AutoCAD 2011 but they will fix it in the next service pack of AutoCAD 2012. ;-(

Valued Contributor
bodhran
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
Message 5 of 6 (347 Views)

Re: Polyline with zero area

08-03-2011 03:40 PM in reply to: vryarbe

Thanks for letting us know!!

 

B

*Expert Elite*
azrdgldr
Posts: 1,250
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 6 of 6 (331 Views)

Re: Polyline with zero area

08-04-2011 04:15 AM in reply to: vryarbe

Typical Autodesk.  Great customer service.  Why fix something for a customer that was wrong in the first place.  Imagine buying a car and you get a recall for a bad windshield wiper.  The dealership tells you, you have to buy a new car cause they can't fix it.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!