AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
stl4310
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-01-2004
Message 21 of 33 (785 Views)

Re: plot to PDF crashing

09-30-2010 12:40 PM in reply to: pendean

I'm running 32bit XP, could that be the issue?

 

They do have some hatch patterns, but nothing insane.  I've tried it with drawings w/out hatch patterns and I still have the same problem.

 

I could plot to EPS, but I still doesn't solve the problem.  I also need to be able to convert an entire set of drawings to PDF to distribute to consultants.

 

At one point it was migrated, then I uninstalled it and reinstalled w/out any migration.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,923
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 22 of 33 (780 Views)

Re: plot to PDF crashing

09-30-2010 12:57 PM in reply to: stl4310

R2011 is a resource hog above earlier versions, especially with all the graphics features on: What are your XP PC specs (RAM, available HD drive, connection method to file server and plotter and so on)?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
stl4310
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-01-2004
Message 23 of 33 (779 Views)

Re: plot to PDF crashing

09-30-2010 12:57 PM in reply to: stl4310

Actually, the 64bit XP machine in the office doesn't work as well...could it be an XP issue?

Active Contributor
stl4310
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-01-2004
Message 24 of 33 (776 Views)

Re: plot to PDF crashing

09-30-2010 01:02 PM in reply to: pendean

Core2Quad Q9450 @ 2.66ghz

3gb RAM

135gb free on hard drive

Graphics Card is dual Nvidia Quadro FX 570

network is CAT6

HP plotter is on this network, PDF plotter is on local machine

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,923
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 25 of 33 (769 Views)

Re: plot to PDF crashing

09-30-2010 01:40 PM in reply to: stl4310

You'll have to wait for someone with XP to comment, I do not have a PC with XP.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
stl4310
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-01-2004
Message 26 of 33 (768 Views)

Re: plot to PDF crashing

09-30-2010 01:47 PM in reply to: pendean

It's now 4 machines in our office that don't work.  

However, if I use the "dwg to PDF.pc3" it seems to work and is editable in Illustrator.  Now if I can just get my batch plotting to work...

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,923
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 27 of 33 (765 Views)

Re: plot to PDF crashing

09-30-2010 02:35 PM in reply to: stl4310

PUBLISH command has a PDF option built-in that aims at the DWG to PDF.PC3 driver: under PUBLISH TO>Select PDF.
Then tap Publish Options button and adjust as needed.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
TheRuinner13
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎03-14-2005
Message 28 of 33 (570 Views)

Re: plot to PDF crashing

01-17-2011 04:33 PM in reply to: stl4310

My computer just started acting up. It has started to take 5~6 minutes ot open the plot dialog box, then that much time or more to complete the plot. 11x17 sheets, not that I see how that would affect it.

 

In Windows 7 it appears to be locked up. There is very little happening in the Task Manager either. I hope it doesn't spread like the post a few posts back.

 

 

Windows 7 Pro SP1, HP Z400 w/Dual ZR24w Monitors, 12G Ram, AutoCAD MEP 2012
Valued Contributor
TheRuinner13
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎03-14-2005
Message 29 of 33 (569 Views)

Re: plot to PDF crashing

01-17-2011 04:46 PM in reply to: TheRuinner13

Oh yeah,

 

AutoCAD 2011 MEP (sorry if I'm not in the correct forum)

Win 7

HP Z400

Intell Xeon W3565 @ 3.2 GHz

12.0 GB RAM

64 bit

5.17 Gig left on the hard drive.

 

 

It's running poorly off the hard drive. I placed my files local to try and rule out network issues.

 

TIA

Bill

 

Windows 7 Pro SP1, HP Z400 w/Dual ZR24w Monitors, 12G Ram, AutoCAD MEP 2012
Active Member
brionmkean
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-18-2011
Message 30 of 33 (538 Views)

Re: plot to PDF crashing

01-18-2011 01:17 PM in reply to: stl4310

I believe this is a problem on the AutoDesk / AutoCAD side of the equation, not Adobe -  though I cannot verify this to be true.

 

I have a similar problem: I can plot to PDF totally fine using page sizes "Letter" and "11x17". However, not to ARCH D or E or any other larger page size. I get a blank sheet with the "educational" use tags on the edges. To Letter or 11x17 ,no problems.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.